Help With Song Transcription
jaymz023
Feb 9 2015, 06:25 PM
GMC:er
A close friends mom died recently and she asked me to learn this song so my band can play it while she sings it as a tribute to her mom. This is actually her singing it in the recording 15 years ago! Wants it doneon acoustic she says.

Anyway, even though I play metal and hard rock, I agreed. But I am still learning how to play by ear and could use help. I think I hear a C-G-Am-F-G progression for the main parts of the song-but Im probably wrong. Also the intro picking parts I could use help with.

Its frustrating for me because I can play ANY Metallica song from tabs but struggle with learning easy sings without tabs. Thank you in advance!

Oh and yes, it is a POP song...... but not too poppy lol I actually think after I learn the acoustic version my band can make it heavier like Evanescence style....

https://www.dropbox.com/s/dcmloikpxigs4bo/01%20Cry.m4a?dl=0

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
jaymz023
Feb 10 2015, 08:05 PM
Also if there is a better way to upload the song, please let me know. I use dropbox a lot, maybe YouTube is better?

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
Feb 11 2015, 12:22 AM
Instructor
Hi Jay! I checked the song and these are the chords used there:

Verse: C - Cmaj7 - F - F

Pre-chorus: C - G - Dsus4 - F

Chorus: C - G - Dm - F

And this is a transcription of the intro tabbed by me. biggrin.gif

Attached File  song.gp5 ( 2.62K ) Number of downloads: 95

--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud