Modding My Squier, Tips?
ins187
Oct 17 2008, 12:06 PM
GMC:er
I have a classic vibe 60's strat that i've been playing for 3 months now. It's up to par with my fender mim telecaster. Lately i've been thinking that i can get a whole lot more out of this guitar. I've never done any mods on a guitar before but i'm great with soldering etc so that shouldn't be a problem.

I got it straight out of the box and have never done any changes on it. So the specs are still original LINK. My question is what can i change on this guitar to give it a more funky/bluesier tone and improve the overal tone?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 16)
OrganisedConfusi...
Oct 17 2008, 12:09 PM
It's difficult with the poor wood quality of the Squire range but different pick ups would make a great deal of different. If you get some high quality pick ups.

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack

+Quote Post
Noangels
Oct 17 2008, 03:08 PM
The only thing I can think of is taking it out into your garden and giving it a viking funeral tongue.gif

joking aside you can change the pickups if you realy feel like upgrading it,that should improve the tone a lot-apart from that I cant realy think of any other alterations you could do

well I spose you could put a brass nut on it to increase sustain

--------------------
Ibanez geo and a line 6 spider

+Quote Post
MickeM
Oct 17 2008, 03:16 PM