0 0

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Slayer Lessons Problems, Missing Kinks?
kevvyg
post Apr 18 2010, 06:02 PM
Post #1


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 185
Joined: 22-August 08
From: Leicester, UK
Member No.: 5.740



Hi Lian,

I'd like to attempt your Slayer Style (Advanced) lesson as a REC video.
However, the backing track 05 (170 bpm) has the guitar track on it.
I'm assuming it should be like the others - with no guitar. (The backing track for Slayer Style (Beginner) is the same.
If it can't be fixed, could you let me have the 170bpm backing track?

Thanks a lot!
Kevin

ps Here's a link to the lesson:

http://www.guitarmasterclass.net/rhythm-gu...style-advanced/

This post has been edited by kevvyg: Apr 18 2010, 06:10 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lian Gerbino
post Apr 19 2010, 02:18 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.426
Joined: 14-April 08
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Member No.: 4.895



hi Kevin, I can re-make a Bt for you by this night. I will upload to this thread as soon as I make it.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kevvyg
post Apr 20 2010, 05:21 PM
Post #3


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 185
Joined: 22-August 08
From: Leicester, UK
Member No.: 5.740



QUOTE (Lian Gerbino @ Apr 19 2010, 03:18 PM) *
hi Kevin, I can re-make a Bt for you by this night. I will upload to this thread as soon as I make it.


Thanks Lian.
KG
ps The thread title was supposed to 'Missing Links', not 'Kinks'!!
I was having trouble with the tab page, but it was ok, as it turned out.

pps I'm thinking of getting a new effects unit, as my Boss ME-5 is a bit old. I'm looking at a Line 6 POD X3 Live. Would I be able to use your settings on this? What effects unit do you generally use on your videos?

This post has been edited by kevvyg: Apr 20 2010, 05:29 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
edguy
post Apr 20 2010, 05:56 PM
Post #4


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 532
Joined: 13-February 07
From: Germany, BW
Member No.: 1.193



Hey sorry to jump in here. Yeah you can use Lians Presets with the Line6 POD x3 live. And i think Lian uses a Line6 POD 2.0 for all his lessons.

This post has been edited by edguy: Apr 20 2010, 05:57 PM


--------------------
My gear:
Schecter Blackjack ATX FR
Ibanez SA 220 Fm
Line 6 POD HD (Desktop)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lian Gerbino
post Apr 22 2010, 03:40 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.426
Joined: 14-April 08
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Member No.: 4.895



I use a POD XT for my lessons, and yes, as Edguy said, you can add my presets into a X3 live. smile.gif
Kevvyg: I was so busy last days, I'll send your BT asap, sorry for delay smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kevvyg
post Apr 23 2010, 04:53 PM
Post #6


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 185
Joined: 22-August 08
From: Leicester, UK
Member No.: 5.740



QUOTE (Lian Gerbino @ Apr 22 2010, 03:40 PM) *
I use a POD XT for my lessons, and yes, as Edguy said, you can add my presets into a X3 live. smile.gif
Kevvyg: I was so busy last days, I'll send your BT asap, sorry for delay smile.gif

Ok, no problem!
I've been looking on EBay at X3's, but there are far more XT's and they're cheaper too, so I might go for that, if the X3's prove to be too expensive!

Thanks,
Kevin
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kevvyg
post Apr 30 2010, 04:54 PM
Post #7


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 185
Joined: 22-August 08
From: Leicester, UK
Member No.: 5.740



QUOTE (Lian Gerbino @ Apr 22 2010, 03:40 PM) *
I use a POD XT for my lessons, and yes, as Edguy said, you can add my presets into a X3 live. smile.gif
Kevvyg: I was so busy last days, I'll send your BT asap, sorry for delay smile.gif


Hi Lian, I'm now the proud owner of an XT Live!

As I have to familiarise myself with its workings, could you possibly give me a quick step by step instruction of how to find your settings (Slayer style - Advanced), and tell me how to get them into my XT? Once I've done it, I'll be ok for other lessons.

Thanks a lot!
Kevin

PS Just found some XT setting on your board, as .l6t's. What's the process for installing them in the XT? I've downloaded 'Gearbox', which seems to contain 'Line 6 Monkey' for updating the XT and an Edit application for editing the settings. I'll have a read through the instuction manuals etc, but if you have any simple instructions, that'd be appreciated!!

PPS Hope you find time to do the backing track!!

This post has been edited by kevvyg: May 3 2010, 11:58 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kevvyg
post May 5 2010, 12:42 PM
Post #8


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 185
Joined: 22-August 08
From: Leicester, UK
Member No.: 5.740



Hi, not being funny or anything, but does anyone know if Lian is on holiday or something?!!!!

Kevin laugh.gif

ps, I now have the software for the XT (GearBox, Line 6 Monkey etc) up and running, and have have successfully updated the unit. Also have managed to work out how to edit tones etc using GearBox. So I'm getting there!!!

pps It might be an idea to have an 'Effects Hardware/Software Library' on the site. Members could contribute with instructions on how to use specific hardware, and well...software. It could be a great help!!!

This post has been edited by kevvyg: May 5 2010, 12:46 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lian Gerbino
post May 7 2010, 03:56 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.426
Joined: 14-April 08
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Member No.: 4.895



so sorry about this Kev, I'm not on holidays, just a little busy on my band's recordings.
I will send you the BT asap.

PS: cool you have updated POD XT live, have you added my presets into yours?

PPS: this is definitely a great idea. there's a forum section about gear and stuff, but nothing that specific.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kevvyg
post May 8 2010, 12:08 PM
Post #10


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 185
Joined: 22-August 08
From: Leicester, UK
Member No.: 5.740



QUOTE (Lian Gerbino @ May 7 2010, 03:56 PM) *
so sorry about this Kev, I'm not on holidays, just a little busy on my band's recordings.
I will send you the BT asap.

PS: cool you have updated POD XT live, have you added my presets into yours?

PPS: this is definitely a great idea. there's a forum section about gear and stuff, but nothing that specific.


Hi Lian!
No, I haven't loaded your presets yet, as I'm not sure how to!
I'm reading the manual as closely as possible, but the XT is a little more complicated than my ME-5!
If you do have a chance to give me a few simple instructions, that would be great, but I'm sure I'll get there in the end...
It'll be good to have the same sound as you for playing back your lessons.
Do the other teachers in GMC also leave their settings on the site? biggrin.gif

oh, and I've lost the location of your presets again. Do you have a link?!! Thanks.

This post has been edited by kevvyg: May 8 2010, 12:11 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
edguy
post May 8 2010, 01:30 PM
Post #11


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 532
Joined: 13-February 07
From: Germany, BW
Member No.: 1.193



QUOTE (kevvyg @ May 8 2010, 01:08 PM) *
Hi Lian!
No, I haven't loaded your presets yet, as I'm not sure how to!
I'm reading the manual as closely as possible, but the XT is a little more complicated than my ME-5!
If you do have a chance to give me a few simple instructions, that would be great, but I'm sure I'll get there in the end...
It'll be good to have the same sound as you for playing back your lessons.
Do the other teachers in GMC also leave their settings on the site? biggrin.gif

oh, and I've lost the location of your presets again. Do you have a link?!! Thanks.

I think i jump in again biggrin.gif On my POD x3 i can load the presets on my POD with the line 6 Monkey software. This software is free for POD users and you get it from the line 6 homepage. You also need the Line 6 Monkey Software for updating your flash memory of your POD.

i hope i could help you a little bit



--------------------
My gear:
Schecter Blackjack ATX FR
Ibanez SA 220 Fm
Line 6 POD HD (Desktop)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kevvyg
post May 9 2010, 08:22 PM
Post #12


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 185
Joined: 22-August 08
From: Leicester, UK
Member No.: 5.740



QUOTE (edguy @ May 8 2010, 01:30 PM) *
I think i jump in again biggrin.gif On my POD x3 i can load the presets on my POD with the line 6 Monkey software. This software is free for POD users and you get it from the line 6 homepage. You also need the Line 6 Monkey Software for updating your flash memory of your POD.

i hope i could help you a little bit


Hi, I've got 'GearBox' (which contains 'Line 6 Monkey'), which I've managed to suss out enough to update my firmwear etc.
I'm not sure at the moment though, of exactly what I need to do once I've got a .l6t file on my desktop to get it into the XT!
I'm working on it...!

thanks guys,
Kevin

ps Lian, found the XT settings!
If you have one for the Slayer lesson, could you put it with the others, and I'll download it...tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kevvyg: May 10 2010, 04:53 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kevvyg
post May 22 2010, 03:50 PM
Post #13


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 185
Joined: 22-August 08
From: Leicester, UK
Member No.: 5.740



QUOTE (Lian Gerbino @ May 7 2010, 03:56 PM) *
so sorry about this Kev, I'm not on holidays, just a little busy on my band's recordings.
I will send you the BT asap.

PS: cool you have updated POD XT live, have you added my presets into yours?

PPS: this is definitely a great idea. there's a forum section about gear and stuff, but nothing that specific.



Hi Lian, sorry to be a pain, dude....any sign of that backing track!!

Thanks!
KG
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kevvyg
post May 27 2010, 08:14 PM
Post #14


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 185
Joined: 22-August 08
From: Leicester, UK
Member No.: 5.740



Hi Lian, I guess you're still a bit tied up band-wise, so I'll move onto another lesson while I'm waiting. Give me a shout when you've had a chance to do it.....! mellow.gif

Oh, and ps...if you could put the Slayer POD XT settings onto your board too, that would be fab!! tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lian Gerbino
post May 27 2010, 09:24 PM
Post #15


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.426
Joined: 14-April 08
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Member No.: 4.895



ok, sorry for delay man, I was so busy with all the moving thing :S
here I found some time to re-make that BT.
I will upload the pod preset asap
cya!
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Lian_Gerbino___Slayer_without_guitars.mp3 ( 1.33MB ) Number of downloads: 133
 


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kevvyg
post May 29 2010, 01:45 PM
Post #16


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 185
Joined: 22-August 08
From: Leicester, UK
Member No.: 5.740



QUOTE (Lian Gerbino @ May 27 2010, 09:24 PM) *
ok, sorry for delay man, I was so busy with all the moving thing :S
here I found some time to re-make that BT.
I will upload the pod preset asap
cya!

Thanks Lian. I appreciate it!!

Kevin
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lian Gerbino
post May 29 2010, 04:56 PM
Post #17


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.426
Joined: 14-April 08
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Member No.: 4.895



hey Kev, so sorry for the long delay dude! have fun with the lesson!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 10:04 AM