4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Playaxeman Mentored By Muris, UNUSED
playaxeman
Sep 4 2009, 05:51 PM
Learning Rock Star
Hello Muris,

Thanx for having me in the MTP. It feels great to be mentored by a great guitarist like you.

Well my name is Robert. I started playing guitar I think it was between my 12- 14 year. Now i am 44 already. ( life goes fast... when having fun..)

I started probably to impress girls tongue.gif No kindding

The reason I started playing is I heard Mark Farmer of Grand Fund Railroad, Alvin Lee of TYA and Ritchie Blackmore of Deep Purple. I wanted to learn that.
Later I heard Jimi Hendrix play and I loved his playing.

When I was younger I only loved hard rock & Metal band like Kiss, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Black Sabbath, UFO, Scorpions, Rush, Ted Nugent, THIN LIZZY, Michael Schenker.

But now I love all kind of music: funk (T.O.P.), blues (bb king Clapton, Jeff Heally, SRV, RobbenFord) , fusion, rock, disco, pop as long as there is good guitar in the song.

I never took guitar playing very serious when I was young I though that I didn' t have to practice. You had it in you or not (kinda black/white thinking) and I was spending lot of time in sport (Karate, soccer, ninjutsu)

But that has changed since I am playing in a few cover bands sine 1,5 year. ( Wish I was now 15 year old with GMC around.... biggrin.gif ) I have tasted how it is to play for a few hundred people with a band, I was the lead guitarist, playing stuff I didn't know what I was playing when I improviced on a lead take.. I don't want to make mistakes on stage or when I am playing. I want to play in a the way like breathing or walking: do it natural not forced.

So that why I started looking for lessons: to learn it once an for all biggrin.gif .

First I googled a bit and the I found GMC. Never thought there would be a site where your could wonderful lesson like these .

I take practising very serious since then.