5 Pentatonic Boxes For Begginers, Student Instructor lesson!
coffeeman
Mar 13 2010, 01:21 AM
Experienced Tone Seeker

Introduction
Hi guys my name is Andres Cuellar Wills.I'm from Bogota, Colombia. I guess a lot of you know me from a while now, but for those who don't here's the short story. I'm 34 years old, I started playing when I was 17 , and played for a couple of years. After about 10 years of not touching the guitar I decided to pick it up again 3 years ago. I suscribed to GMC in september 2008 and it's been awesome.

I listen to a lot of music, but am a Rock guy. My favourite guitar players are David Gilmour, Slash, Brian May, Zakk Wylde, Joe Satriani, Eddie Van Halen, Eric Johnson, Greg Howe, Guthrie Govan, and the list goes on. My favorite bands are Pink Floyd, Foo Fighters , pearl jam, alice in chains, faith no more, stone temple pilots, rage against the machine, MUSE and a lot more.

unfortunately I don't work in the music business, but I do love my job. I have my own business of Colombian Coffee(now you know why my nickname). I'm planning on realising my first CD this year, you can listen to a couple of tracks am working on at the moment Myspace.

Lesson
Maybe this is the first scale we all learn. The thing is that a lot of us , learn only the first position on the minor pentatonic scale. In this lesson you will find a simple excercise to learn the 5 positions of the pentatonic scale over a cool rock backing track, we'll learn it over the G minor pentatonic scale, that way we can cover the whole neck. Let's take a look at the main video and then we'll continue explaining the whole lesson:
Main Video

First position

This is the first position of the G minor pentatonic scale. It's the most comon position. The first pattern is a simple scale run in 16th notes , and in the second pattern we'll repeat some notes to make it more interesting and to repeat it a lot so we can memorize it.