0 0

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can You Connect Two Amps Together
johnymac
post Jan 5 2008, 02:51 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 3-December 07
From: billerica MA
Member No.: 3.440



i have two different amps at the moment a line 6 spider III 15w and a marshall mg30dfx and i was curious if there is a way to connect them together to get a different sound. or is that just rediculous


--------------------
my gear
Epiphone les Paul extreme, Marshall MG30DFX
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bmh1109
post Jan 5 2008, 09:16 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 192
Joined: 2-May 07
From: Hickory, NC
Member No.: 1.747



QUOTE (johnymac @ Jan 4 2008, 08:51 PM) *
i have two different amps at the moment a line 6 spider III 15w and a marshall mg30dfx and i was curious if there is a way to connect them together to get a different sound. or is that just rediculous



i don't know of any way to connect 2 amps together, as neither have an effects loop and even if you did connect them it probably wouldn't sound too good.


--------------------
Guitars
Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Fender MIM Strat
Amps
Mesa Studio Preamp--->Mesa 50/50--->Line 6 M13 ---> into Avatar 2x12 Cab rewired for stereo operation
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tank
post Jan 5 2008, 09:51 AM
Post #3


GMC Veteran
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 666
Joined: 20-August 05
From: Shropshire UK
Member No.: 5



QUOTE (bmh1109 @ Jan 5 2008, 08:16 AM) *
i don't know of any way to connect 2 amps together, as neither have an effects loop and even if you did connect them it probably wouldn't sound too good.

My friend uses this set up, with a fender valve, and an orange. The fender has got a clean reverb sound, and the orange puts out a crunch. The trick to it is that you need to put a stereo signal splitter in the chain, just before the amps. The splitter will take the line in from your guitar, but provide two line outs, one to each amp.

Alternatively, I believe some multi effects, (such as boss GT series) have stereo out, so put the left out to one amp, and right out to the other.

smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jan 5 2008, 12:02 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



You need stereo out on your pedals or from the guitar to do that, or maybe spider has a FXloop. Then you might try to hook them up, but really I don't see the point. Maybe if you would have some decent Marshall preamp, like this... smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Jan 5 2008, 12:04 PM
Post #5


GMC Admin & Bass Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.873
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



You can use AUX OUT , OR PRE-EQ OUT(tuner out) if one of your amps have it..It will send the dry signal out of amp , and you can connect it to a input jack on the other amp.. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Bogdan: Jan 5 2008, 12:04 PM


--------------------
Need to ask about anything GMC related? Send me a pm
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jan 5 2008, 02:52 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Or even if you have phones out on your spider, send it to marshall, and walla - you'll get your own 2 amp configuration.

The best use of two amp is when you have stereo effects, and then you send one channel to the left one, and the other to the right one.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
johnymac
post Jan 7 2008, 07:45 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 3-December 07
From: billerica MA
Member No.: 3.440



thanks guys for the ideas i'll let you know how it works out


--------------------
my gear
Epiphone les Paul extreme, Marshall MG30DFX
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hisham Al-Sanea
post Jan 7 2008, 11:30 PM
Post #8


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.085
Joined: 19-October 07
From: middle east / lebanon
Member No.: 3.084



line out from the main Amp to the second Amp in put


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hardtail
post Jan 8 2008, 02:43 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 299
Joined: 1-June 07
Member No.: 1.967



QUOTE (Hisham @ Jan 7 2008, 05:30 PM) *
line out from the main Amp to the second Amp in put


Please do NOT do this.

The "Line Out" on an amplifier is a high power output channel used to drive cabinets or individual speakers. You will damage possibly both amps if you do it.

The device you need is common and it called an AB-Y switch. Not only will it allow you to play both amps at once but you can also switch between them. Careful with your expectations though. A passive AB-Y only has a set amount of juice to send, so if you split the signal between the amps the volume of the amps will drop.

In my experience these devices are best used when switching independently between amps or simply running both at once. Switching on the fly will cause volume changes you cannot adjust for unless it is between songs.

Hardtail


--------------------

Beginner's Amp & Guitar Gear Guide
My Keeley Blues Driver BD-2 Review
My Line6 Flextone II Review

Guitars: Martin D-16RGT with B-Band UST & '99 Fender "Big Apple" Hardtail HH Strat
Amps: Fender Blues Junior Special Edition & Fender Studio 85 (Simultaneous... yummy)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jan 8 2008, 10:06 AM
Post #10


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Hardtail @ Jan 8 2008, 02:43 AM) *
Please do NOT do this.

The "Line Out" on an amplifier is a high power output channel used to drive cabinets or individual speakers. You will damage possibly both amps if you do it.

The device you need is common and it called an AB-Y switch. Not only will it allow you to play both amps at once but you can also switch between them. Careful with your expectations though. A passive AB-Y only has a set amount of juice to send, so if you split the signal between the amps the volume of the amps will drop.

In my experience these devices are best used when switching independently between amps or simply running both at once. Switching on the fly will cause volume changes you cannot adjust for unless it is between songs.

Hardtail

I think he meant the "line level out" that runs to a PA/mixer, not Extension cabinet. Line level out would maybe go at 1V which i assume could be achived overdriving a humbucker pu so that should be ok for the input. Or?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hardtail
post Jan 9 2008, 03:02 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 299
Joined: 1-June 07
Member No.: 1.967



QUOTE (MickeM @ Jan 8 2008, 04:06 AM) *
I think he meant the "line level out" that runs to a PA/mixer, not Extension cabinet. Line level out would maybe go at 1V which i assume could be achived overdriving a humbucker pu so that should be ok for the input. Or?


"Line Level Out" or "Aux Out" or "Mix Out" or "Preamp Out" would have all been fine but I'd hate to see someone damage a bunch of equipment out of a little carelessness. I know Hisham meant well but I just wanted to throw up a red flag to prevent any undue stress for Mr. johnymac. biggrin.gif

Hardtail


--------------------

Beginner's Amp & Guitar Gear Guide
My Keeley Blues Driver BD-2 Review
My Line6 Flextone II Review

Guitars: Martin D-16RGT with B-Band UST & '99 Fender "Big Apple" Hardtail HH Strat
Amps: Fender Blues Junior Special Edition & Fender Studio 85 (Simultaneous... yummy)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
johnymac
post Jan 9 2008, 06:17 AM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 3-December 07
From: billerica MA
Member No.: 3.440



thanks for the warning hardtail i will look into this more before i do anything that might damage my amps


--------------------
my gear
Epiphone les Paul extreme, Marshall MG30DFX
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st August 2014 - 02:43 AM