0 0

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Furman Power Conditioner
Charvel
post Mar 7 2008, 12:27 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 19-January 08
Member No.: 3.885



Hi Muris,

I've just seen that you use Furman Power Conditioners... A lot of other Pros use it too and I just wanted to know what's it really good for? I mean you could easily buy a multi-electric socket thing so that you can plug in most of your things, like Computer, Amp, Pedals etc. What's the difference with the Furman? Does the Furman also provide 9V sockets for effects, so that you can dial them straight, or will you still need an adapter for the Stompboxes?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Mar 7 2008, 12:47 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



It provides good and stable power supply to your rack units,
it also eliminates 60HZ hum etc.
As far as I know there are only 2 versions on these conditioners,
US and Europe versions,no 9 Volts.
Another thing,sockets on this converters are female 3 prongs sockets
so you'll need cable/s with male 3 prong jack/s to attach your gear to it.

Did I miss something? smile.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tonymiro
post Mar 7 2008, 06:30 PM
Post #3


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.153
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Great summary Muris smile.gif and just to add two other things: one, the Furman - unlike a standard multiway - is a 19 inch rack unit so it can go in your rack smile.gif . Two, just to expand a little on what Muris has said - the Furman uses the male/female IEEE connectors that are pretty much industry standard for pro end rack gear. As such it's easier to hook up everything and the IEEE's take up less 'real estate' then a normal plug so you need less room.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Mar 7 2008, 06:36 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159




Thanks Tony,great adds plus I didn't know the real name for those connectors
but now I do,IEEE. smile.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tonymiro
post Mar 7 2008, 06:47 PM
Post #5


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.153
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (Muris @ Mar 7 2008, 06:36 PM) *
Thanks Tony,great adds plus I didn't know the real name for those connectors
but now I do,IEEE. smile.gif


Opps sorry Muris (and Charvel) getting my connectors mixed up - the mains male/female type ones here are IEC. - IEEE usually refers to the firewire ones ie IEEE 1394 (and stands for something like Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers).
Sorry about that.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Mar 7 2008, 11:10 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



Thanks Tony,IEC then smile.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
micpon
post May 5 2008, 01:45 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 24-December 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 3.596



Hi Muris,
1.I´m interested in your Furman Power Conditioner. Have you the american type(110V) and what model? After the conditioner you have a voltage converter and then the supply? Is that right?
2. Your racks seems to be made of aluminium and must be light. Where did you get it?

regards micpon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post May 7 2008, 12:48 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



Hi Micpon.

It'd euro version,220v tho it has wide range to cover low and high voltage,
if it's not steady enough.
As for its part,I cannot tell you a lot,haven't opened it. blink.gif

And racks are aluminium,bought them on eBay. smile.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
micpon
post May 8 2008, 08:47 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 24-December 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 3.596



QUOTE (Muris Varajic @ May 7 2008, 01:48 PM) *
Hi Micpon.

It'd euro version,220v tho it has wide range to cover low and high voltage,
if it's not steady enough.
As for its part,I cannot tell you a lot,haven't opened it. blink.gif

And racks are aluminium,bought them on eBay. smile.gif

Hi again Muris.
Apologize if I ask too much. I have this Mesa problem(110v) so I consider to change power transforer. The original Mesa-euro trafs are expensive and I guess its easy to get a similar one quit cheap. Unfortunaly its hard to get theparameters of their transformers. Did you buy a original or do you know the data of these transformers? Is a converter is an alternative? I have a 2:ninety.

regards,

Micpon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post May 8 2008, 09:44 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



I bought only transformer,even without chassis,100watts,for Triaxis.
Later on my friend made a box for it,so it runs as external adapter actually.
Since you need it for 2:90 I would suggest 200watts power,just in case.
I'm not sure where you can buy original Mesa 220 transformer tho. unsure.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2014 - 06:46 AM