0 0

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Apple, as in Mac
bmh1109
post Mar 25 2008, 12:25 AM
Post #41


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 192
Joined: 2-May 07
From: Hickory, NC
Member No.: 1.747




Ill check out some items that may work out for you and let you know. If the dell is having issues keeping up with multi-track playback, its likely a combination of underequipped processor and too little ram. As far as pricing goes for things, i can really only quote prices for USDM stuff, however i can just make up a list of things that you could find in your area, although im imagining that it would be more expensive over there. Give me a day or so and i'll try to come up with a descent computer build for you and see what you think


--------------------
Guitars
Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Fender MIM Strat
Amps
Mesa Studio Preamp--->Mesa 50/50--->Line 6 M13 ---> into Avatar 2x12 Cab rewired for stereo operation
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Mar 25 2008, 12:53 AM
Post #42


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (bmh1109 @ Mar 25 2008, 12:25 AM) *
Ill check out some items that may work out for you and let you know. If the dell is having issues keeping up with multi-track playback, its likely a combination of underequipped processor and too little ram. As far as pricing goes for things, i can really only quote prices for USDM stuff, however i can just make up a list of things that you could find in your area, although im imagining that it would be more expensive over there. Give me a day or so and i'll try to come up with a descent computer build for you and see what you think

Thanks! No hurry, I'm never quick on desicions anyway ;-)

Oh, and I tried today to record a song with the X3, and both recording and playback was flawless.
Then I disconnected the X3 and hooked up my older Line6 Guitarport and all of a sudden playback was skippy.

To me it seems the X3 works in full duplex handling sound while guitar port either is less efficient as a sound card or only works while recording and for playback leaves it to the internal soundcard.
I did record about 5 tracks with the X3, something that was almost impossible before as the playback was skippy while recording still was at ~0 latency.
I tried to find facts on the Guitarport whether it's it's single duplex as I think or not.

Never the less, it seems like the X3 can work as a soundcard and my Dell would then work for recording.
If you still assemble a suggestion for a computer I think that would be a nice reference for everyone to read so please go ahead if you like.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bmh1109
post Mar 25 2008, 01:32 AM
Post #43


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 192
Joined: 2-May 07
From: Hickory, NC
Member No.: 1.747



QUOTE (MickeM @ Mar 24 2008, 07:53 PM) *
Thanks! No hurry, I'm never quick on desicions anyway ;-)

Oh, and I tried today to record a song with the X3, and both recording and playback was flawless.
Then I disconnected the X3 and hooked up my older Line6 Guitarport and all of a sudden playback was skippy.

To me it seems the X3 works in full duplex handling sound while guitar port either is less efficient as a sound card or only works while recording and for playback leaves it to the internal soundcard.
I did record about 5 tracks with the X3, something that was almost impossible before as the playback was skippy while recording still was at ~0 latency.
I tried to find facts on the Guitarport whether it's it's single duplex as I think or not.

Never the less, it seems like the X3 can work as a soundcard and my Dell would then work for recording.
If you still assemble a suggestion for a computer I think that would be a nice reference for everyone to read so please go ahead if you like.



I already sent you a PM with a suggestion computer since i found I have more free time then i thought, but if you'd like to copy and paste it back up that would be great since i don't have a copy of it.


--------------------
Guitars
Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Fender MIM Strat
Amps
Mesa Studio Preamp--->Mesa 50/50--->Line 6 M13 ---> into Avatar 2x12 Cab rewired for stereo operation
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Mar 25 2008, 01:43 AM
Post #44


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (bmh1109 @ Mar 25 2008, 01:32 AM) *
I already sent you a PM with a suggestion computer since i found I have more free time then i thought, but if you'd like to copy and paste it back up that would be great since i don't have a copy of it.

Many thanks! I will check into the details tomorrow :-)


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Asphyxia Feeling
post Mar 25 2008, 04:07 AM
Post #45


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 241
Joined: 19-April 07
From: Palm Springs, CA.
Member No.: 1.620



any NEW mac with 2GB of ram will be more then good enough to handle music applications- end.
WIN/10.


--------------------
What did you learn tonight?
while shouting so loud, you barely joyous, broken thing.
You are a voice that never sings, is what i say.
You are freezing over hell
You are bringing on that end you do so well
and you can only blame yourself, is what is say.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 08:06 AM