Smooth And Sweet Or Fast And Furious? Why Not Both?, A Phrygian Dominant "10 lessons in 1"
Gus
May 4 2008, 11:21 PM
GMC:er
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Welcome

Hello, GMC - My name is Gustavo Costa. So it is Gus C ( not a Gus G yet tongue.gif )
Attached Image

I also added a silly welcome video (Main video comes later in the post) : Attached File  Welcome.avi ( 16.86MB ) Number of downloads: 734

I live in Aalborg, Denmark, where I am studying mobile communication. I was born and lived almost all my life in Brasília, capital of Brazil. Really good city but it was good to move. It is such a good experience to live abroad for some period. wink.gif
I am 26 years old and played acoustic since I was 8. But I stopped several times, I was lazy to practice mad.gif and played basically chords.
3 years ago me and some close friends decided to form a band (named Rotação 355) and then I started learning electric guitar and lead. laugh.gif Currently, I am playing acoustic style with one band and electric with another. cool.gif

I just love music. Not only hearing and playing, but also dancing. About rock I like pretty much every genre, from ballads to metal. My favorite guitarists are Jimmy Page, Slash, Kirk Hammett and Augusto Licks (brazilian guitarist of the golden era of Engenheiros do Hawaii). But there are so many more (Joe Satriani, Gus G, David Gilmour, Mark Knopfler, ... )

Still, I will give you one example of song from each, to make you understand one kind of song I just love: songs that build up emotions all the way to the top. From slow clean melodies to shredding at bulky distortion: Stairway to Heaven, November Rain , Fade to Black, O exército de um Homem Só (Parte 1) . That's also I believe the best construction for a solo: use full speed only in the climax.

That said, I hope you like the dynamics of feeling of this lesson, and can learn something wink.gif