0 0

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Marshall + Pod Xt Live Tips
Tomas Santa Clar...
post Dec 2 2008, 08:18 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 22-November 08
From: Lisbon-Portugal
Member No.: 6.283



Hey guys
im having so much trouble finding the right tone for me, im tyring to get a tone thats not too much crunchy nor too much muffled up, all i can get from my marshall and my pod is overdrive like im playing old school rock it lacks POWER
can you guys give me some tips? for example i have the pod directly hooked into my marshall is there any way to get a cool sound by wiring it otherwise?

all the presets i had were good but they lacked bass power sounded like i was playing behind a wall and the pod eated 50% of the volume from the AMP

im lost in a world of overdrve xD

all tips are welcome
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fatb0t
post Dec 2 2008, 08:23 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 3.373



Dude, I'm in the same boat. All I can say is just tweak the pod through the gearbox software until you find something that works. I'm really looking for that Andy Timmons tone, where it's like crunchy but solos are blasting. I still can't find it hhaha
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tomas Santa Clar...
post Dec 2 2008, 08:25 PM
Post #3


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 22-November 08
From: Lisbon-Portugal
Member No.: 6.283



Its frustrating i realy caznt find that blasting tone!

with loads of sustain
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fatb0t
post Dec 2 2008, 09:16 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 3.373



Try this tone: http://www.box.net/shared/hvayxvaif

It's one of our instructors pod presets, I love it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 2 2008, 09:50 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



What kind of Marshall do you have mate? Do you use OD channel on Marshall? That's better than any POD preset..


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tomas Santa Clar...
post Dec 2 2008, 11:22 PM
Post #6


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 22-November 08
From: Lisbon-Portugal
Member No.: 6.283



i tried the od channel but all it comes out is over drive xD

its a combo Marshall VS100
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tommyboy
post Dec 6 2008, 01:08 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 257
Joined: 2-November 08
From: North Dakota, USA
Member No.: 6.175



QUOTE (Tomás Santa Clara @ Dec 2 2008, 04:22 PM) *
i tried the od channel but all it comes out is over drive xD

its a combo Marshall VS100


Does that Marshall have a effects loop. If it does so you might try running your pod there.

tommyboy


--------------------
Rock Hard or Not at ALL!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Dec 6 2008, 01:15 AM
Post #8


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



I've had my best luck soundwise running it into the return socket of the fx loop, as a preamp.

Put before my amp it didn't sound too good.

So I suggest you try setting it in fxloop mode, select a preamp setting and plug into Return. That's how I got the better sound with my Peavey on the clean channel.
Still, the Peavey sounded better without the POD X3 but still, kind a fun anyway.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 6 2008, 01:38 AM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Here's what I've found in the handbook for you amp mate:

"Loudspeaker Jacks
For connection to external loudspeakers. The
minimum operating impedance for the VS100R, VS100H
& VS102R is 4 Ohms. The internal speaker on the
VS100R/VS102R is rated at 8 Ohms, therefore if using an
external speaker in conjunction with the internal speaker,
the external speaker should be rated at 8 Ohms."

What this basically means that your amp is giving full power of 100W @ 4Ohm, and your speaker in the amp is rate 8Ohm. This means that the amp is not putting all it's power on the speaker, only 50-70% of it, and this is why it sounds so thin. I had similar problems in the studio with newer valvestate model AVT100 which has the same design. That amp just sounds thin and flat with no bass, so I think I know what you mean when you say you can't get a good distortion out of it. It sounds flat and buzzy. I don't know if POD can help there mate, because it is a digital modeler, but if you want my advice take Boss DS1 pedal and put it in front and you will get a good sound from it with good low end. This is the cheapest and most effective solution I could produce with this amp.

Also if you really want to make your amp sound good on overdrive you should plug it into some kind of a 4Ohm cab and crank it. This will open the sound and make a huge difference.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tomas Santa Clar...
post Dec 28 2008, 07:10 PM
Post #10


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 22-November 08
From: Lisbon-Portugal
Member No.: 6.283



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Dec 6 2008, 02:38 AM) *
Here's what I've found in the handbook for you amp mate:

"Loudspeaker Jacks
For connection to external loudspeakers. The
minimum operating impedance for the VS100R, VS100H
& VS102R is 4 Ohms. The internal speaker on the
VS100R/VS102R is rated at 8 Ohms, therefore if using an
external speaker in conjunction with the internal speaker,
the external speaker should be rated at 8 Ohms."

What this basically means that your amp is giving full power of 100W @ 4Ohm, and your speaker in the amp is rate 8Ohm. This means that the amp is not putting all it's power on the speaker, only 50-70% of it, and this is why it sounds so thin. I had similar problems in the studio with newer valvestate model AVT100 which has the same design. That amp just sounds thin and flat with no bass, so I think I know what you mean when you say you can't get a good distortion out of it. It sounds flat and buzzy. I don't know if POD can help there mate, because it is a digital modeler, but if you want my advice take Boss DS1 pedal and put it in front and you will get a good sound from it with good low end. This is the cheapest and most effective solution I could produce with this amp.

Also if you really want to make your amp sound good on overdrive you should plug it into some kind of a 4Ohm cab and crank it. This will open the sound and make a huge difference.



Thank you Ivan

I have recently bought the satchurator and a metal zone
it sounds AWESOME!!!!!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jer
post Dec 28 2008, 09:44 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.889
Joined: 3-September 08
From: Des Moines IA USA
Member No.: 5.836



LOVE the metal zone


--------------------
My Gear

Jackson SL-1 USA Soloist
Jackson DK2M
ESP LTD MH-400
ESP LTD EC-1000
Ibanez Custom S-Series
Martin 001 Acoustic

Handmade Marshall JCM800 50watt head (with mods)
Carvin 50x2 Stereo Tube Amp
Boss GT-10 Preamp/Effects Processor
Digitech GSP-1101 Preamp/Effects Processor
Behringer FCB1010 Midi Controlled Floorboard
Behringer Dualfex EX2200
Behinger Stereo EQ
Line 6 POD with 2.3 upgrade
Line 6 Floor Board
Line 6 Spider III Practice Amp
Nady UHF Wireless


"Who will eat the decay, when the worms have lost their sight?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Dec 28 2008, 09:56 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



a little tip, not to discourage you,


but some amps just cant sound good with a multi effects pedals....there are amps out there that are made to run side by side with them for example the roland jc-120, and there are some that need analog effects to sound good....so if your pod fails, you could always trade it for a few good pedals


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tomas Santa Clar...
post Dec 29 2008, 01:19 AM
Post #13


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 22-November 08
From: Lisbon-Portugal
Member No.: 6.283



QUOTE (Marc_Maiden @ Dec 28 2008, 10:56 PM) *
a little tip, not to discourage you,


but some amps just cant sound good with a multi effects pedals....there are amps out there that are made to run side by side with them for example the roland jc-120, and there are some that need analog effects to sound good....so if your pod fails, you could always trade it for a few good pedals



i am aware of that marc and i apreciate your warning thank you

i am thinking on selling my POD XT Live but i need it to record stuff to my PC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 29 2008, 02:12 AM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



QUOTE (Tomás Santa Clara @ Dec 28 2008, 07:10 PM) *
Thank you Ivan

I have recently bought the satchurator and a metal zone
it sounds AWESOME!!!!!


No prob mate anytime. I can imagine the Satchurator working nicely, since the amp is getting along nicely with DS1 as well. Two pedals are somewhat similar. It's great to hear that you solved the issue! smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tomas Santa Clar...
post Dec 29 2008, 03:19 AM
Post #15


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 22-November 08
From: Lisbon-Portugal
Member No.: 6.283



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Dec 29 2008, 03:12 AM) *
No prob mate anytime. I can imagine the Satchurator working nicely, since the amp is getting along nicely with DS1 as well. Two pedals are somewhat similar. It's great to hear that you solved the issue! smile.gif


xD the satchurator is a gem of a pedal not only for the distorion but the harmonics that it shoots out are amazing

the sound is very rich and if you need a boost for you solo but you have the gain on 10 ...you hit the MORE switch biggrin.gif tongue.gif laugh.gif love the pedal

that and a whammy combined = heaven
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Dec 29 2008, 05:19 AM
Post #16


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 21.219
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



I also have a Marshall to play at home (Valvestate mod 8080) and I've never could get a good sound combined with my pod x3 live. So I agree with Ivan that the best option is to use it with a DS1 or a similar pedals like Vissual Sound's Dr. Jekyll & Hide (awesome dist + overdrive pedal).


--------------------
My lessons

Don't miss my New Guitar Session at VCHAT,
this Wednesday at 20 hs (London Time).

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my compositions at:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2014 - 09:02 AM