0 0

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> To Remove Reverb
Deleted
post Apr 30 2010, 09:55 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 173
Joined: 4-June 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 5.240



Hi,

I've recorded some drum tracks with a condenser in a big room and now in the recording there's a lot of reverb.

Is there any way to remove the reverb? Any plugin or settings I could use with sonar 8?

Thanks


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Apr 30 2010, 09:58 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



check this little vst:
http://www.algorithmix.com/en/denoiser_pro.htm

never tried it, maybe it can help you smile.gif


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Frederik
post Apr 30 2010, 10:21 PM
Post #3


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 616
Joined: 30-January 09
From: Aalborg, Denmark
Member No.: 6.696



what about micing the drums up seperatly?
think its hard to remove reverb. And if im not wrong the condensators are there to add some ambience and of course for the cymbals
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Apr 30 2010, 10:53 PM
Post #4


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



It's always difficult, or impossible to remove effects afterwards.
If you're looking for a good result you better rerecord the drums. And remember that the further away you keep the mike the more room/reverb you'll get.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Apr 30 2010, 11:27 PM
Post #5


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



I actually saw a de-reverb plug-in a few days ago, but I can't remember the name for the life of me... sad.gif

I'll keep looking and you know when/if I figure out what it was smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Staffy
post Apr 30 2010, 11:31 PM
Post #6


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



QUOTE (audiopaal @ May 1 2010, 12:27 AM) *
I actually saw a de-reverb plug-in a few days ago, but I can't remember the name for the life of me... sad.gif

I'll keep looking and you know when/if I figure out what it was smile.gif


Please remember it, it will come in handy on the entire 80's music production.... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Maybe the name was Deverb??? tongue.gif

//Staffay


--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post May 1 2010, 01:23 AM
Post #7


GMC Admin & Bass Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.976
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



I'm not sure if this is possible. If you can try re-recording in better fitted room. You will get better results if you mic up separately every part of the drum set.

If you guys find that DeReverb plug let me know smile.gif


--------------------
Need to ask about anything GMC related? Send me a pm
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tonymiro
post May 1 2010, 02:08 PM
Post #8


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.146
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (Adrian Figallo @ Apr 30 2010, 08:58 PM) *
check this little vst:
http://www.algorithmix.com/en/denoiser_pro.htm

never tried it, maybe it can help you smile.gif


Denoiser is very good but very expensive - as is all Algorythmix pro end stuff. It's up there with Cedar noise removal apps for pro end mastering daws like SADiE etc. At a guess it would probably cost about 1000Euros. Also I think you'll need the USB security dongle to use it. If you can afford it Adrian's absolutely right that it will do a great job.

Algo do some simpler cut down noise removal stuff aimed at the consumer market - one of those might do the trick. Another possibility is the RX from Izotope -again the pro version of that is about 1000Euros - and there is a simpler consumer/prosumer orientated version for about 400Euros but I don't think it's upto removing reverb. Failing these if you know how to do convolution then take a convolution of the room to get only the reverb. Use that file to de-convolute the file - a bit hit and miss as you can get phase effects as it is pretty hard to get a proper mirror image due to imprecise mic placement.

If you can't afford the Algo then personally I'd agree with Bogdan - re-record.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post May 10 2010, 03:32 AM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Tony gave a great response of what can be done. Just to add, for demo recordings, I wouldn't count on too big improvement @ high costs. If you have the chance, add some dry kick & snare samples with Drumagog or something and adjust the triggering with that drum audio file (if possible). This will help the drums to be more defined. The rest can be tucked in the overall mix in a more comfortable way. Record everything else dry, except one guitar or vocal, and don't overdo there as well.
Or if it is not a problem, get some curtains on walls, and call the drummer once again. smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Sep 5 2010, 03:56 PM
Post #10


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



This might be helpful smile.gif

http://www.spl.info/index.php?id=463&L=1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2014 - 04:08 PM