0 0

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Tone Out Of Amp?
Shuma13
post Aug 11 2011, 08:49 PM
Post #1


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 10-June 11
From: Morgan Hill, CA
Member No.: 13.063



Hello,

I have not used my amp for a couple of months. I have been doing my practicing and lessons straight out of my RP255 into my headphones.

I have had some time with the wife and kids out of the house the last few days and have been using the amp. I cannot get the tone to sound anything like I am getting out of the headphones. It does not sound bad, but not what I want.

I have a small, old, Peavey backstage amp. For what I need an amp for it works. Just wanted to know where to start, or if I am asking for something that is not obtainable.

Thanks,
Brian S.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Aug 11 2011, 10:19 PM
Post #2


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



I used to have one of those Peavey Backstage. Pretty sweet though for a solid state amp, it was my first amp so I guess the feelings aint gone. wink.gif
Kind of buzzy distorion when too much preamp gain but the cleans were quote ok.

Don't expect it to sound professional. Headphone playing from one of those digital units can be rather rewarding, hetting the tone right into the ear beats an old solid state.

Perhaps you can try connecting the PR255 into the Peavey and use some effects from it.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post Aug 11 2011, 11:12 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.218
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



first off , you do not want your amp to have the same tone as headphones( phones have a different range than an amp has , and can deliver more bass tones - just at a lower level) along with a guitar players usual mistake of adding in too much bass ( we tend to try to reproduce our favorite album tones that also have bass in the mix).if you do this when playing live you will blend with ths bass and not stand out like you should
in short your ear has got used to the headphone sound
just be aware of this and use your amp enough to re-adjust your ear
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mudbone
post Aug 11 2011, 11:31 PM
Post #4


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.679
Joined: 6-May 10
From: Charlotte, NC (residence)/Boston, MA (home) USA
Member No.: 10.329



QUOTE (jstcrsn @ Aug 11 2011, 06:12 PM) *
first off , you do not want your amp to have the same tone as headphones( phones have a different range than an amp has , and can deliver more bass tones - just at a lower level) along with a guitar players usual mistake of adding in too much bass ( we tend to try to reproduce our favorite album tones that also have bass in the mix).if you do this when playing live you will blend with ths bass and not stand out like you should
in short your ear has got used to the headphone sound
just be aware of this and use your amp enough to re-adjust your ear


Excellent point biggrin.gif


--------------------


He who laughs last thinks slowest.

"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." - Christopher Hitchens


Gear:

Guitars: Uncle Rufus' Twanger Classic
Amps: Mississippi Boom Box
Mojo: Hammer of Odin and a pair of Ox gonads
Inspiration: Samuel Adams Boston Lager

Zero to Hero: 1,387/10,000

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Shuma13
post Aug 12 2011, 12:04 AM
Post #5


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 10-June 11
From: Morgan Hill, CA
Member No.: 13.063



Thanks for the replies. I guess I will just live with it.

QUOTE (MickeM @ Aug 11 2011, 09:19 PM) *
I used to have one of those Peavey Backstage. Pretty sweet though for a solid state amp, it was my first amp so I guess the feelings aint gone. wink.gif
Kind of buzzy distorion when too much preamp gain but the cleans were quote ok.

Don't expect it to sound professional. Headphone playing from one of those digital units can be rather rewarding, hetting the tone right into the ear beats an old solid state.

Perhaps you can try connecting the PR255 into the Peavey and use some effects from it.


This is what I do, and it does not sound like it does through the headphones. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Aug 12 2011, 06:11 AM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



if you want it to sound like the headphones buy an eq pedal, with a 10 band EQ you can tweak your tone quite a bit.


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Aug 12 2011, 11:16 AM
Post #7


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Shuma13 @ Aug 12 2011, 01:04 AM) *
This is what I do, and it does not sound like it does through the headphones. smile.gif

Silly me, I thought you were comparing the RP255 by itself with the Peavey by itself hence my odd the reply then...

Every time the guitar signal passes through an item it will alter. Even if it's just a cord.
The RP would probably sound more headphones-like played through your Hi-Fi unit than then amp.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SpaseMoonkey
post Aug 12 2011, 11:24 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 890
Joined: 8-May 11
From: Warren, Ohio
Member No.: 12.764



QUOTE (MickeM @ Aug 12 2011, 06:16 AM) *
Silly me, I thought you were comparing the RP255 by itself with the Peavey by itself hence my odd the reply then...

Every time the guitar signal passes through an item it will alter. Even if it's just a cord.
The RP would probably sound more headphones-like played through your Hi-Fi unit than then amp.


As MickeM states I have to agree. When I had my Pod HD500, it sounded great in headphones. But when I put it on my amp it sounded different because you lose the tonal range. I ran my EQ flat on the amp and just boosted my highs up a little more and I still got a great tone out of it. But the weird part to me was when I had a friend bring over his recording gear and we hooked it up to the amp instead of the USB out on the Pod. It had a sound almost like it did via headphones it had that pro sound to it.


--------------------
Guitars:
Ibanez RG920QM (Black Ice) , Ibanez S770PB (Natural Flat) , Ibanez RG470 (Reactor Blue)
Ibanez RG470XL (Black Perl) , Squire IV Jazz Bass (Sunburst)

Gear:
Kemper Profiling Amp , Alto TS115A.

My YouTube Page.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Aug 12 2011, 09:20 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Yes, your processor will sound better through headphones, simply because it puts out a hi-fi signal (which means it covers a wide range of frequencies evenly). Guitar amp is more midrange-focused device.

Try this:

- Turn off cabinet modelling on your processor
- Make very clean sound on your amp


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd September 2014 - 12:31 AM