0 0

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Fractal Question!, Please help I can't figure it out!!!
Alex Feather
post Jan 16 2012, 08:43 PM
Post #1


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.332
Joined: 21-November 11
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 14.398



Hi I recently purchased Fractal AXE FX ULTRA and I am very happy with
it! The only thing I can figure out is how to use a stereo input
I plug my guitar in to front input and getting only left channel I
tried setting it up for stereo in I/O menu but still only left
channel! Please help I can't find answer anywhere!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dark dude
post Jan 16 2012, 09:17 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.081
Joined: 27-September 09
From: London, UK
Member No.: 7.668



Eh, I don't have much experience with this stuff at all, but after having a look, have you tried using the rear inputs? (Source: http://acapella.harmony-central.com/showth...=1#post32417515)


--------------------
Ibanez 2550E
LTD EC-1000 VB
Roland Cube 30W
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PosterBoy
post Jan 16 2012, 09:43 PM
Post #3


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.032
Joined: 26-October 11
From: Galway, Ireland
Member No.: 14.225



Axe Fx Wiki

Looks like you have to use the rear inputs

This post has been edited by PosterBoy: Jan 16 2012, 09:43 PM


--------------------
Currently Working on

PosterBoy's Modern Riffing with Gabriel

PosterBoy's Bootcamp with Todd



Gear
Tyler Burning Water 2K
Burny RLG90 with BK Emeralds
Fender US Tele with BK Piledrivers
Axe Fx Ultra - GCP Pro
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sinisa Cekic
post Jan 16 2012, 11:15 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.649
Joined: 15-October 08
From: Belgrade,Serbia
Member No.: 6.085



Let's clarify, do you think on stereo INPUT or Output? Have you stereo guitar ?
You should to use a balanced outputs, but anyway, each digital processor operates on the same principle, I use unbalanced outputs, two cables for the left and right channel, if you want a stereo sound on a PA .


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alex Feather
post Jan 16 2012, 11:51 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.332
Joined: 21-November 11
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 14.398



QUOTE (Sinisa Cekic @ Jan 16 2012, 10:15 PM) *
Let's clarify, do you think on stereo INPUT or Output? Have you stereo guitar ?
You should to use a balanced outputs, but anyway, each digital processor operates on the same principle, I use unbalanced outputs, two cables for the left and right channel, if you want a stereo sound on a PA .

My problem is I have right and left channel on fractal
And only left is working I know that guitar is mono and that's why it could be like that but I've seen people running it the same way and getting both channels to work!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Jan 17 2012, 02:38 AM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 21.219
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



QUOTE (Alex Feather @ Jan 16 2012, 07:51 PM) *
My problem is I have right and left channel on fractal
And only left is working I know that guitar is mono and that's why it could be like that but I've seen people running it the same way and getting both channels to work!


Do you mean that some people find the way to duplicate mono guitar and process it as a stereo signal?
I'm a bit confused about what you want to do... I don't know the fractal but maybe adding some stereo FXs and setting the output to stereo could work... don't you think so?


--------------------
My lessons

Don't miss my New Guitar Session at VCHAT,
this Wednesday at 20 hs (London Time).

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my compositions at:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JaxN4
post Jan 17 2012, 03:05 AM
Post #7


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 846
Joined: 24-June 11
From: Australia
Member No.: 13.200



Not sure what your after either.... the wiki link above will solve it.

The axe 2 has stereo input, but this is only for a fx loop send and return....



--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tonymiro
post Jan 17 2012, 10:50 AM
Post #8


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.146
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (Sinisa Cekic @ Jan 16 2012, 10:15 PM) *
...
You should to use a balanced outputs, but anyway, each digital processor operates on the same principle, I use unbalanced outputs, two cables for the left and right channel, if you want a stereo sound on a PA .


+1 - If the utput is a normal mono 1/4 inch jack then you need to connect it as Sinisa says. A normal jack is not balanced and may lead to hum and noise issues.

If it is a stereo out then a normal guitar jack at a stereo output is not the correct connector. If you're lucky you will only get a single mono signal - the left channel. If you're unlucky you can blow the connector. A stereo 1/4 inch output needs a TRS jack which can then be split to left and right etc. TRS is also balanced.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alex Feather
post Jan 17 2012, 08:55 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.332
Joined: 21-November 11
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 14.398



Thank you very much guys!!! You really helped a lot to figure it out! It's a very complicated unit and I am trying to get use to it!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sollesnes
post Jan 18 2012, 12:30 AM
Post #10


Learning Tone Master
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.940
Joined: 18-January 09
Member No.: 6.623



I usually jam with stereo output smile.gif The above is how you connect it - just remember to go to I/O and have the settings on stereo, or it'll sound bad smile.gif

This post has been edited by Sollesnes: Jan 18 2012, 12:30 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PosterBoy
post Jan 18 2012, 10:00 AM
Post #11


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.032
Joined: 26-October 11
From: Galway, Ireland
Member No.: 14.225



I was so unhappy at church when they had to take on of my channels on the mixer and put me to mono. No stereo delays any more or different cabs feeding the Left and Right. sad.gif


--------------------
Currently Working on

PosterBoy's Modern Riffing with Gabriel

PosterBoy's Bootcamp with Todd



Gear
Tyler Burning Water 2K
Burny RLG90 with BK Emeralds
Fender US Tele with BK Piledrivers
Axe Fx Ultra - GCP Pro
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JaxN4
post Jan 18 2012, 11:05 AM
Post #12


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 846
Joined: 24-June 11
From: Australia
Member No.: 13.200



QUOTE (Alex Feather @ Jan 17 2012, 07:55 PM) *
It's a very complicated unit and I am trying to get use to it!


It sure is.... So many features and options.


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2014 - 07:23 AM