0 0

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help!, Line 6 POD HD500
Alexiaden93
post Jan 21 2012, 02:33 AM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.518
Joined: 16-April 09
From: Sandnes, Norway
Member No.: 7.072



It's happened several times so far, usually when I browse the tone directories in Line 6 POD HD500 Edit software: the POD suddenly starts screaming into my headphones (high pitched single note) and won't stop until I've reset the unit by holding down the left dial key on powering up. Anyone have any idea what's going on? :S


--------------------
My YouTube Channel
Lost in all the 2000+ GMC lessons? Check my Lesson Plan


Guitars
Fender American Standard Stratocaster - Olympic White body, Maple fretboard, White Pearl pickguard, 21 frets, SSS
Yamaha Pacifica

Amplifier
Marshall 15CDR, 45 watts


Recording equipment/software
Line 6 POD Studio GX
Logitech QuickCam Pro 9000
Reaper v3.04
Sony Vegas Pro 8.0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Azzaboi
post Jan 21 2012, 07:27 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.482
Joined: 23-March 09
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 6.965



I've never had this issue with mine, so not sure, but here's some suggestions...

Make sure you haven't got an issue with the guitar pickups - they can easily pick string vibration as well as environment. Roll the volume of the guitar down or off when not jamming on it can help prevent feedback.

Ensure that you guitar devices and the picks aren't getting interferance from sub-woofers, other sound systems, and monitors. My computer screen doesn't seem to affect it but the 5.1 surround sound, if getting too close can has odd effects on my guitar with passive pickups which can create a scream.

Get Line 6 Monkey to update your software and firmware to the latest, but make sure the update was fully successful and not interrupted.

Are you trying the tones from: http://line6.com/customtone ?

Make sure you are using the right 'compatible' tones for your Pod HD. It's backwards compatible with previous version of the Pod, but your'll normally need to tweak them to get them sounding right. Some tones are designed for active pickups, humbuckers, hi gain amps while others passive, singlecoil, etc. They could possibly scream on setups that don't support them.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alexiaden93
post Jan 21 2012, 11:02 PM
Post #3


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.518
Joined: 16-April 09
From: Sandnes, Norway
Member No.: 7.072



QUOTE (Azzaboi @ Jan 21 2012, 07:27 PM) *
I've never had this issue with mine, so not sure, but here's some suggestions...

Make sure you haven't got an issue with the guitar pickups - they can easily pick string vibration as well as environment. Roll the volume of the guitar down or off when not jamming on it can help prevent feedback.

Ensure that you guitar devices and the picks aren't getting interferance from sub-woofers, other sound systems, and monitors. My computer screen doesn't seem to affect it but the 5.1 surround sound, if getting too close can has odd effects on my guitar with passive pickups which can create a scream.

Get Line 6 Monkey to update your software and firmware to the latest, but make sure the update was fully successful and not interrupted.

Are you trying the tones from: http://line6.com/customtone ?

Make sure you are using the right 'compatible' tones for your Pod HD. It's backwards compatible with previous version of the Pod, but your'll normally need to tweak them to get them sounding right. Some tones are designed for active pickups, humbuckers, hi gain amps while others passive, singlecoil, etc. They could possibly scream on setups that don't support them.


Ehm... It's not feedback, and I'm not using any custom tones. I'm just dialing in tones in Line 6 POD HD500. Apparently it's an increasingly common issue with the latest updated firmware. :/


--------------------
My YouTube Channel
Lost in all the 2000+ GMC lessons? Check my Lesson Plan


Guitars
Fender American Standard Stratocaster - Olympic White body, Maple fretboard, White Pearl pickguard, 21 frets, SSS
Yamaha Pacifica

Amplifier
Marshall 15CDR, 45 watts


Recording equipment/software
Line 6 POD Studio GX
Logitech QuickCam Pro 9000
Reaper v3.04
Sony Vegas Pro 8.0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jan 21 2012, 11:18 PM
Post #4


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



Is there a knob to set the output level for the headphones that's maybe set to full. Still that'd rather distort the headphone speakers.
Would be interesting to know if it'd scream the same way through other outputs, like XLR.

If you still got warranty it'd be quite safe to return it. A POD ofc isn't supposed to sound and act like that.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alexiaden93
post Jan 21 2012, 11:25 PM
Post #5


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.518
Joined: 16-April 09
From: Sandnes, Norway
Member No.: 7.072



QUOTE (MickeM @ Jan 21 2012, 11:18 PM) *
Is there a knob to set the output level for the headphones that's maybe set to full. Still that'd rather distort the headphone speakers.
Would be interesting to know if it'd scream the same way through other outputs, like XLR.

If you still got warranty it'd be quite safe to return it. A POD ofc isn't supposed to sound and act like that.


No there is no volume/ouput level for the headphones. The device just starts screaming at high frequency through whatever maximum volume is supported by the headphones.

I bought it less than a week ago, but I'm leaving USA tomorrow.


--------------------
My YouTube Channel
Lost in all the 2000+ GMC lessons? Check my Lesson Plan


Guitars
Fender American Standard Stratocaster - Olympic White body, Maple fretboard, White Pearl pickguard, 21 frets, SSS
Yamaha Pacifica

Amplifier
Marshall 15CDR, 45 watts


Recording equipment/software
Line 6 POD Studio GX
Logitech QuickCam Pro 9000
Reaper v3.04
Sony Vegas Pro 8.0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Jan 21 2012, 11:25 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 20.742
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



I have this one and I haven't had this problem... it's weird, maybe updating to the last firmware could fix the problem. If the problem continues don't waste time and go to the place where you bought it to ask for solutions.


--------------------
My lessons

Don't miss my New Guitar Session at VCHAT,
this Wednesday at 20 hs (London Time).

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my compositions at:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alexiaden93
post Jan 21 2012, 11:38 PM
Post #7


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.518
Joined: 16-April 09
From: Sandnes, Norway
Member No.: 7.072



QUOTE (Gabriel Leopardi @ Jan 21 2012, 11:25 PM) *
I have this one and I haven't had this problem... it's weird, maybe updating to the last firmware could fix the problem. If the problem continues don't waste time and go to the place where you bought it to ask for solutions.

Apparently the latest firmware IS the problem... I've been looking at the Line 6 support Discussions forum, and this problem has started in late December 2011. I think the Line 6 employee recommended always plugging the USB out of the PC before powering off and on the device. Will test that.


--------------------
My YouTube Channel
Lost in all the 2000+ GMC lessons? Check my Lesson Plan


Guitars
Fender American Standard Stratocaster - Olympic White body, Maple fretboard, White Pearl pickguard, 21 frets, SSS
Yamaha Pacifica

Amplifier
Marshall 15CDR, 45 watts


Recording equipment/software
Line 6 POD Studio GX
Logitech QuickCam Pro 9000
Reaper v3.04
Sony Vegas Pro 8.0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alex Feather
post Jan 22 2012, 02:35 AM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.332
Joined: 21-November 11
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 14.398



QUOTE (Alexiaden93 @ Jan 21 2012, 01:33 AM) *
It's happened several times so far, usually when I browse the tone directories in Line 6 POD HD500 Edit software: the POD suddenly starts screaming into my headphones (high pitched single note) and won't stop until I've reset the unit by holding down the left dial key on powering up. Anyone have any idea what's going on? :S

Pretty much the same thing happened to me today! I don't have a POD it happened when I was using Logic software! Have no idea what it was !!!!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jan 23 2012, 02:48 AM
Post #9


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.452
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167




Yes, I have had this too ... I think I had a bad patch and after a factory reset the problem went away. I also have a problem with losing all input gain - the unit goes very quiet and the amp models are not proprly driven - again a factory reset fixed that. The forums seem to blame firmware version 1 .40 for that one.
Bottom line, it's a new unit and still has some teething problems, but on the plus side I have been getting some awesome tones out of it smile.gif

This post has been edited by Andrew Cockburn: Jan 23 2012, 04:16 AM


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Pod HD Pro, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Ibanez Weeping Demon Wah
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd September 2014 - 02:56 AM