0 0

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording Help, Reaper / Amplitube problem
bleez
post Mar 8 2012, 02:39 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.709
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



I watched Ivans video and downloaded the three pieces of software he recommended. Im using Windows 7.

Here are the basic steps Ive done -
1. Using a stereo jack which Ive used to plug my guitar into the Mic socket on the PC.
2. I can hear the clean guitar sound in the left speaker, although its a bit quiet. I think the next step was to mute this, which I have done.
3. I open up reaper, insert a backing track which plays fine.
4. I add a second track and use the 'FX' button to add Amplitube'. The Amplitube screen pops up as expected.

Here is the problem..... I dont get any sound from my guitar. In the video Ivan had his guitar sound at this point and could use amplitube to add effects. I have silence!

I have un-muted the Mic ( which was muted in step 2 ) and I get the same clean guitar ( quiet ) sound in the left speaker but Amplitube does not add any effects to it.

when I strum the guitar I can see the meter move on the track in reaper but there is no movement on any meters in Amplitube.

Im missing 'something' but have ran out of ideas. Does anyone have some thoughts on where Im going wrong?





--------------------


I might not be a rocket scientist but I know how to rock it
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PosterBoy
post Mar 8 2012, 02:54 PM
Post #2


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.032
Joined: 26-October 11
From: Galway, Ireland
Member No.: 14.225



Check what you have selected for the monitor options (I can't remember where to get it now, I think it's a right click on the arm button or something around there)


--------------------
Currently Working on

PosterBoy's Modern Riffing with Gabriel

PosterBoy's Bootcamp with Todd



Gear
Tyler Burning Water 2K
Burny RLG90 with BK Emeralds
Fender US Tele with BK Piledrivers
Axe Fx Ultra - GCP Pro
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Mar 8 2012, 03:54 PM
Post #3


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.709
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



QUOTE (PosterBoy @ Mar 8 2012, 01:54 PM) *
Check what you have selected for the monitor options (I can't remember where to get it now, I think it's a right click on the arm button or something around there)


Yes biggrin.gif you sir are a legend! That was it. Half a day I spent trying to get that sorted, Google failed me!

Now, I just seem to be getting a mad hiss when using amplitude. it kind of 'pops' more than a constant hiss and the threshold is swinging into the red as it happens........... any ideas?
Im not to clued up on it ( you may have noticed)


--------------------


I might not be a rocket scientist but I know how to rock it
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SpaseMoonkey
post Mar 8 2012, 04:30 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 899
Joined: 8-May 11
From: Warren, Ohio
Member No.: 12.764



QUOTE (bleez @ Mar 8 2012, 09:54 AM) *
Yes biggrin.gif you sir are a legend! That was it. Half a day I spent trying to get that sorted, Google failed me!

Now, I just seem to be getting a mad hiss when using amplitude. it kind of 'pops' more than a constant hiss and the threshold is swinging into the red as it happens........... any ideas?
Im not to clued up on it ( you may have noticed)

You can do this a few ways.
A) Windows 7 > Control Panel > Sound > Recording Tab > Properties > Levels Tab.
cool.gif Reaper > Click the track and adjust the slider to take the volume/db down.
C) Reaper > AmpliTube > Adjust your input/output via the controls for the amp/program.

I would personally do A then when your done recording and it sounds right, open up the track properties and normalize it, it will bring the levels up a bit and increase the sound minus the pop/crack.


--------------------
Guitars:
Ibanez RG920QM (Black Ice) , Ibanez S770PB (Natural Flat) , Ibanez RG470 (Reactor Blue)
Ibanez RG470XL (Black Perl) , Squire IV Jazz Bass (Sunburst)

Gear:
Kemper Profiling Amp , Alto TS115A.

My YouTube Page.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Mar 8 2012, 06:12 PM
Post #5


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.709
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



QUOTE (SpaseMoonkey @ Mar 8 2012, 03:30 PM) *
You can do this a few ways.
A) Windows 7 > Control Panel > Sound > Recording Tab > Properties > Levels Tab.
cool.gif Reaper > Click the track and adjust the slider to take the volume/db down.
C) Reaper > AmpliTube > Adjust your input/output via the controls for the amp/program.

I would personally do A then when your done recording and it sounds right, open up the track properties and normalize it, it will bring the levels up a bit and increase the sound minus the pop/crack.


cool, I tried option A and and it has helped quite a bit. There's still a bit of a hiss but its no where near as bad. Cheers for that smile.gif


--------------------


I might not be a rocket scientist but I know how to rock it
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SpaseMoonkey
post Mar 8 2012, 06:28 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 899
Joined: 8-May 11
From: Warren, Ohio
Member No.: 12.764



QUOTE (bleez @ Mar 8 2012, 12:12 PM) *
cool, I tried option A and and it has helped quite a bit. There's still a bit of a hiss but its no where near as bad. Cheers for that smile.gif


I get a hiss when I run my mic, I usually do this.

Record a section about 2-4 seconds long, not hitting anything just so you get a hiss sound. Open the FX for the track and insert VST: Reafir. Click the mode and put it on subtract. Make sure you loop that 2-4 seconds only then check the Auto build noise profile. Click play let it run a few passes till it sounds like the hiss is dying down then uncheck the auto build noise profile. That won't get rid of it entirely which I have no clue how to do that but it will cut that hiss down a lot.


--------------------
Guitars:
Ibanez RG920QM (Black Ice) , Ibanez S770PB (Natural Flat) , Ibanez RG470 (Reactor Blue)
Ibanez RG470XL (Black Perl) , Squire IV Jazz Bass (Sunburst)

Gear:
Kemper Profiling Amp , Alto TS115A.

My YouTube Page.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Mar 8 2012, 08:05 PM
Post #7


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.709
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



QUOTE (SpaseMoonkey @ Mar 8 2012, 05:28 PM) *
I get a hiss when I run my mic, I usually do this.

Record a section about 2-4 seconds long, not hitting anything just so you get a hiss sound. Open the FX for the track and insert VST: Reafir. Click the mode and put it on subtract. Make sure you loop that 2-4 seconds only then check the Auto build noise profile. Click play let it run a few passes till it sounds like the hiss is dying down then uncheck the auto build noise profile. That won't get rid of it entirely which I have no clue how to do that but it will cut that hiss down a lot.


Nice one! I will definitely try that, thanks.

BTW That white Les Paul you have is stunning. I have a black standard but have always fancied the white model. very nice mate.


--------------------


I might not be a rocket scientist but I know how to rock it
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
derper
post Mar 8 2012, 08:22 PM
Post #8


Learning Tone Master
*

Group: Members
Posts: 691
Joined: 8-November 11
From: Portland Oregon
Member No.: 14.316



Also, you get a "hiss" if your guitar is close to your computer, or other electronics. This probably isn't the problem, but just in case....


--------------------



Check out my awesome Nintendo Cover-band, EMULATOR!!
http://www.reverbnation.com/emulator

Now.....go practice!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SpaseMoonkey
post Mar 8 2012, 08:37 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 899
Joined: 8-May 11
From: Warren, Ohio
Member No.: 12.764



QUOTE (bleez @ Mar 8 2012, 02:05 PM) *
Nice one! I will definitely try that, thanks.

BTW That white Les Paul you have is stunning. I have a black standard but have always fancied the white model. very nice mate.

Much thanks, I got lucky and got it before they changed the silver hardware to gold.

QUOTE (derper @ Mar 8 2012, 02:22 PM) *
Also, you get a "hiss" if your guitar is close to your computer, or other electronics. This probably isn't the problem, but just in case....

I think I may have to work on this myself I could move slightly away from everything before I hit the record button.


--------------------
Guitars:
Ibanez RG920QM (Black Ice) , Ibanez S770PB (Natural Flat) , Ibanez RG470 (Reactor Blue)
Ibanez RG470XL (Black Perl) , Squire IV Jazz Bass (Sunburst)

Gear:
Kemper Profiling Amp , Alto TS115A.

My YouTube Page.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2014 - 10:39 AM