0 0

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Latency Issues
John72
post Apr 14 2012, 03:53 AM
Post #1


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 75
Joined: 13-September 11
From: Florida
Member No.: 13.866



Hey folks! I have some issues with recording latency. My laptop borked on me and I had to get a cheap replacement fast. The recording latency is HORRIBLE! Probably almose 1/2 a second. I haven't tried the ASIO driver yet (got my fingers crossed that's all I need.) But, before installing drivers and stuff, I have a couple of questions.

1) I'm using a Boss Br-800 for recording/effects, then USB in to my laptop. I have an integrated sound card, and no pcmcia slot for a Sound Blaster or other card. It got a Core i7 processor and 8 gigs or ram, but with the integrated audio, can I expect much?

2) I read a post from Todd Simpson saying to stay away from 64 bit. DOH! Read that too late, and got 64bit. Has audio recording with 64bit improved? Or am I in for stability problems?

Hopefully, I'm not in too bad of shape and can get this working to a decent level. Thanks for any input!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SpaseMoonkey
post Apr 15 2012, 03:18 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 899
Joined: 8-May 11
From: Warren, Ohio
Member No.: 12.764



QUOTE (John72 @ Apr 13 2012, 10:53 PM) *
Hey folks! I have some issues with recording latency. My laptop borked on me and I had to get a cheap replacement fast. The recording latency is HORRIBLE! Probably almose 1/2 a second. I haven't tried the ASIO driver yet (got my fingers crossed that's all I need.) But, before installing drivers and stuff, I have a couple of questions.

1) I'm using a Boss Br-800 for recording/effects, then USB in to my laptop. I have an integrated sound card, and no pcmcia slot for a Sound Blaster or other card. It got a Core i7 processor and 8 gigs or ram, but with the integrated audio, can I expect much?

2) I read a post from Todd Simpson saying to stay away from 64 bit. DOH! Read that too late, and got 64bit. Has audio recording with 64bit improved? Or am I in for stability problems?

Hopefully, I'm not in too bad of shape and can get this working to a decent level. Thanks for any input!!


1) I use to run a Boss GT-10 and I just used it as my sound card. I don't own an effect pedal like that anymore,
but my recording interface I use ASIO and it runs just fine I honestly don't hear a delay.

2) I am currently running Reaper x64, I've not had any issues.


--------------------
Guitars:
Ibanez RG920QM (Black Ice) , Ibanez S770PB (Natural Flat) , Ibanez RG470 (Reactor Blue)
Ibanez RG470XL (Black Perl) , Squire IV Jazz Bass (Sunburst)

Gear:
Kemper Profiling Amp , Alto TS115A.

My YouTube Page.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Uncreator
post Apr 15 2012, 04:41 AM
Post #3


Fire Up The Blades, Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 8.932
Joined: 6-March 07
From: St. Petersburg, Florida
Member No.: 1.304



First off, for "real-time" recording, an effects pedal will be your sound card like Spase said. So in your DAW you should select that as your audio device and your internal sound card should be disregarded as most stock ones hurt more than help. Also, installing ASIO4ALL will more more than likely allow you to use the ASIO drivers alongside your effects pedal as the card, and this is widely regarded as the lowest latency option in this area. (I use ASIO4ALL with a Behringer Mixer and the delay is non-existant. Also used it with a PODX3 Live and the result was the same)

Next, is your buffer size. Depending on your RAM (you should have plenty), you should try to run 256 buffer size, as this usually provides so little delay, the effect is not noticeable. Although, 512 can work just as well, but anything 1024 and above will produce noticeable delays more than likely. Other options may appear depending on the pedal, but the buffer size can make a big difference.

Todd, like many other will probably suggest 64 bit as a secondary option. I run Reaper in 32 bit because a large majority of my plug-ins do not yet support 64 and most of my 64 bit plug-ins are backwards compatible with 32 bit. I have both Reaper32 and Reaper64 though. If you are referring to your OS being 64 bit then that should not provide any real problems, I have not experienced any, in fact since I moved up to Windows 7 64 its improved.

Last, is your i7 at least a dual core? Most audio applications, even extensively heavy ones at least need a dual core. Even though most audio applications only every use two cores no matter how many, your CPU will spread work loads across as many cores as possible to lighten the load.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
John72
post Apr 15 2012, 08:18 PM
Post #4


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 75
Joined: 13-September 11
From: Florida
Member No.: 13.866



Thanks for the input from both of you. Sounds like running Win7 64bit isn't going to be a problem. (Thats good news). I installed ASIO4ALL, and I still notice a slight delay, although it's improved dramatically. I chose ASIO in Sonar. I'm not sure I'm using it 100% correctly, though (still reading the docs.)

A lot of what I'm trying to accomplish is just monitoring through the laptop speakers. I like to noodle with songs while they're playing in iTunes or something. So, I may not always have a DAW running, if that makes any difference.

The ASIO reported latencies in Sonar:
- Input 0.0 msec, 0 samples
- Output 12.3 msec 544 Samples
- Total Rountrip 12.3 msec, 544 Samples

My i7 has 4 hyperthreaded cores. So Windows shows 8 processors.

This post has been edited by John72: Apr 15 2012, 08:23 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thefireball
post Apr 15 2012, 08:57 PM
Post #5


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.332
Joined: 9-March 10
From: United States, Arkansas
Member No.: 9.801



Yeah, latency stinks.

It's crazy, cuz I have 8 GB of RAM, but my processor is only 2.1, so that could be why I have issues. I have to keep my settings to incredibly slow so my computer won't insert skips.


--------------------


Bandcamp
Facebook Band Page
Official YouTube Channel
Twitter

My Three Year Guitar Evolution

Subscribe to my other YouTube
Sample my projects on SoundCloud

My success is all because of God.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
John72
post Apr 15 2012, 09:21 PM
Post #6


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 75
Joined: 13-September 11
From: Florida
Member No.: 13.866



QUOTE (thefireball @ Apr 15 2012, 07:57 PM) *
Yeah, latency stinks.

It's crazy, cuz I have 8 GB of RAM, but my processor is only 2.1, so that could be why I have issues. I have to keep my settings to incredibly slow so my computer won't insert skips.


Yeah, it's frustrating. I 've spent all of a couple of days on this, and I don't think I'm gonna figure it out. The way it is now, it's just not working.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SpaseMoonkey
post Apr 16 2012, 12:19 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 899
Joined: 8-May 11
From: Warren, Ohio
Member No.: 12.764



Maybe by some chance you are having issues with the 64-bit program.

My laptop use to get hiccups on 64-bit DAWs and switched to a 32-bit version and it cleaned it up. It is a old dell studio.
2.4 duo with I think 4 gigs of ram. I can't remember what bit I used on my mac mini almost same specs but 8 gigs of ram.
My current rig a 3.6 AMD FX (8 Cores) I have no issues with the 64-bit.


--------------------
Guitars:
Ibanez RG920QM (Black Ice) , Ibanez S770PB (Natural Flat) , Ibanez RG470 (Reactor Blue)
Ibanez RG470XL (Black Perl) , Squire IV Jazz Bass (Sunburst)

Gear:
Kemper Profiling Amp , Alto TS115A.

My YouTube Page.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sinisa Cekic
post Apr 16 2012, 11:44 AM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.649
Joined: 15-October 08
From: Belgrade,Serbia
Member No.: 6.085



I was also skeptical about Windows 7 and DAW (Sonar8),plugins etc, but I decided a few days ago to install Ultimate 64 bit - everything works perfectly, although initially there were many frustration with sound card issues !! I wanted to try an old Audigy2 that I have but latest version of damn ASIO4ALL has made a huge confusion in the system so I was forced to uninstall it !Latency is now about 5 msec and works just fine. The next thing is that I had to download the latest Boss GT10 64bit driver, because it's my primary card,and so far everything glides smoothly! With several plug-ins CPU load is ridiculous - 0,5/5 % !!! Cpu is Intel 2500k / 8GB RAM ..


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
John72
post Apr 19 2012, 03:41 AM
Post #9


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 75
Joined: 13-September 11
From: Florida
Member No.: 13.866



Hopefully, I'll get Win7 64bit working. I've got Asio4All installed, and have the br-800 set as the default recording device, with the speakers as the default playback. I'm not sure that qualifies as using it as my sound card. I'm starting to think that's what I'm missing. How do I make an external device my sound card?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Apr 19 2012, 04:10 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 9.648
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



QUOTE (John72 @ Apr 18 2012, 10:41 PM) *
Hopefully, I'll get Win7 64bit working. I've got Asio4All installed, and have the br-800 set as the default recording device, with the speakers as the default playback. I'm not sure that qualifies as using it as my sound card. I'm starting to think that's what I'm missing. How do I make an external device my sound card?


As long as the external device is connected and any required drivers are installed, you should see it as an option in your DAW where you select your soundcard.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Apr 19 2012, 05:21 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 9.648
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Make SURE the latency setting is as low as you can get it. Try a setting, like the one suggested in the previous post, then cut it in half and try it again. If you can keep cutting it in half keep going. If audio stops or something strange happens, change it back to the last setting that worked. That one setting can make WADS of difference.

QUOTE (John72 @ Apr 13 2012, 10:53 PM) *
Hey folks! I have some issues with recording latency. My laptop borked on me and I had to get a cheap replacement fast. The recording latency is HORRIBLE! Probably almose 1/2 a second. I haven't tried the ASIO driver yet (got my fingers crossed that's all I need.) But, before installing drivers and stuff, I have a couple of questions.

1) I'm using a Boss Br-800 for recording/effects, then USB in to my laptop. I have an integrated sound card, and no pcmcia slot for a Sound Blaster or other card. It got a Core i7 processor and 8 gigs or ram, but with the integrated audio, can I expect much?

2) I read a post from Todd Simpson saying to stay away from 64 bit. DOH! Read that too late, and got 64bit. Has audio recording with 64bit improved? Or am I in for stability problems?

Hopefully, I'm not in too bad of shape and can get this working to a decent level. Thanks for any input!!



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
John72
post Apr 20 2012, 03:17 AM
Post #12


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 75
Joined: 13-September 11
From: Florida
Member No.: 13.866



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Apr 19 2012, 04:21 AM) *
Make SURE the latency setting is as low as you can get it. Try a setting, like the one suggested in the previous post, then cut it in half and try it again. If you can keep cutting it in half keep going. If audio stops or something strange happens, change it back to the last setting that worked. That one setting can make WADS of difference.


Thanks Todd. I'll give that a shot. I thought I lowered that setting, but it's possible I didn't. I'll have to look around find that setting and make sure I'm doing that.

I just noticed that even without any external devices, I'm getting a lot of delay. Even using the laptop mic and listening through headphones, there's a noticeable delay. I'm guessing I'll at least have to have that at a low latency before any external devices will be low latency?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 10:19 PM