0 0

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How To Record
JesseJ
post Jul 20 2012, 04:36 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 283
Joined: 11-March 12
Member No.: 15.413



Hi guys smile.gif So yesterday I bought myself the Focusrite scarlett 18i6. And today I realized I have NO IDEA what I'm doing. It took me 2 hours just to figure out how to make it work with garageband! So currently this is what I do.

1 Plug my guitar direct into my interface ( because I haven't bought a mic yet )
2 Open up garageband and record .

And thats it. I am quite dissapointted with the tone I am getting . I am hoping that will change once I get a mic and mic my amp. but all in all I am wondering if I am in a little over my head. Something tells me I should be getting more out of my interface. So I am debating exchanging it ( if the store will let me ) for an interface with less bells and whistles seeing as I dont even know how to use them. I was thinking like maybe either the M-Audio MOBILE PRE MKII or The focusrite Scarlett 2i2.

My goals are to be able to record for the GMC REC program,
Post Youtube covers
And do some singing and write some songs so I would need some sort of software that does drum, and bass lines.

So if you guys dont mind would you please take the time to tell me how your record with all the steps included, and what software you guys use. Thanks smile.gif


--------------------
Never miss an opportunity to play
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben Higgins
post Jul 20 2012, 09:59 AM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 11.883
Joined: 11-March 10
From: England
Member No.: 9.820



Hi Jesse, I wish I could help with personal experience of the Focusrite thing but I don't know it at all..

I just run an XLR out the back of my Marshall into my interface, which is an Edirol UA-25 and record in Cubase. My gear is quite old but the amp makes the difference for me smile.gif


--------------------
The only opponent is within.

My Youtube Channel

My Band




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Jul 20 2012, 11:38 AM
Post #3


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.983
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



The easiest way to record is getting a cheap POD, or similar device.
They are like external sound cards which use USB to obtain great sound with no latency. They also come packed with modelling software (amps) and effects.

Then you'll also need a different program to actually record what you hear, like Reaper, which is free to try.



--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson SG Standard, Ibanez RG2570MZ Prestige, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D


GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Check the Wiki Forum to see what's going on - And don't forget to read The GMC Journal!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jul 20 2012, 12:45 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.268
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



I CAN HELP! smile.gif (first off yeah the starter scarlett has two preamps just like the big guy so go swap it out!)

Quick Tip!

1.) THE GUITAR EMULATIONS IN GUITAR RIG ARE LAME!

That covers it. Now go and get a real emulator, even a demo, like oh say, OVERLOUD or GUITAR RIG or AMPLITUDE FREE. smile.gif

I tried for weeks to get good distortion / tone out of the Garage band amps and it's hopeless. Clean sounds are ok, dirty are just awful.

I've started several threads for sharing various patches in my forum so give them a shot!

http://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...p?showforum=203

So
1.)Open Garage Band
2.)Select the input from your interface/and plug phones in to phones out of interface.
3.)Select REAL INSTRUMENT for the track NOT GUITAR (bypass the crap amps in GB)
4.)Apply a proper plugin like AMPLITUDE FREE

And BINGO! smile.gif Now add other tracks, drums loops, etc. Your recording!

Todd

QUOTE (JesseJ @ Jul 19 2012, 11:36 PM) *
Hi guys smile.gif So yesterday I bought myself the Focusrite scarlett 18i6. And today I realized I have NO IDEA what I'm doing. It took me 2 hours just to figure out how to make it work with garageband! So currently this is what I do.

1 Plug my guitar direct into my interface ( because I haven't bought a mic yet )
2 Open up garageband and record .

And thats it. I am quite dissapointted with the tone I am getting . I am hoping that will change once I get a mic and mic my amp. but all in all I am wondering if I am in a little over my head. Something tells me I should be getting more out of my interface. So I am debating exchanging it ( if the store will let me ) for an interface with less bells and whistles seeing as I dont even know how to use them. I was thinking like maybe either the M-Audio MOBILE PRE MKII or The focusrite Scarlett 2i2.

My goals are to be able to record for the GMC REC program,
Post Youtube covers
And do some singing and write some songs so I would need some sort of software that does drum, and bass lines.

So if you guys dont mind would you please take the time to tell me how your record with all the steps included, and what software you guys use. Thanks smile.gif


This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Jul 20 2012, 12:55 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JesseJ
post Jul 20 2012, 02:48 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 283
Joined: 11-March 12
Member No.: 15.413



Sweet thanks ! I will get a proper plugin ,Like overloud or amplitude since you said that the guitar emulations in guitar rig are lame . And hopefully the store I bought my interface from will let me swap it for the scarlett 2i2 or the M-Audio MOBILE PRE MKII. Everyone at GMC has been very helpfull with all my questions ! thanks so much guys smile.gif


--------------------
Never miss an opportunity to play
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TreyDeschamp
post Jul 20 2012, 02:55 PM
Post #6


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.058
Joined: 1-May 08
From: Diamondhead, MS
Member No.: 5.023



QUOTE (Fran @ Jul 20 2012, 05:38 AM) *
The easiest way to record is getting a cheap POD, or similar device.
They are like external sound cards which use USB to obtain great sound with no latency. They also come packed with modelling software (amps) and effects.

Then you'll also need a different program to actually record what you hear, like Reaper, which is free to try.



This all the way!

I run my guitar to my POD GX ($100) and run that into my computer.

Then I open garageband and POD FARM 2 (software that comes with the line 6 POD GX) and then I'm done. I can change my sound, pic amps and foot pedals, etc.

It works just fine for REC recording.


--------------------
Check out my Youtube!
Add me on Facebook!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gregc1
post Jul 20 2012, 03:15 PM
Post #7


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 21-January 12
From: Florida, United States
Member No.: 14.935



QUOTE (JesseJ @ Jul 20 2012, 01:48 PM) *
Sweet thanks ! I will get a proper plugin ,Like overloud or amplitude since you said that the guitar emulations in guitar rig are lame . And hopefully the store I bought my interface from will let me swap it for the scarlett 2i2 or the M-Audio MOBILE PRE MKII. Everyone at GMC has been very helpfull with all my questions ! thanks so much guys smile.gif


I think he actually meant that the guitar emulations in GARAGE BAND are lame. So use an Amplitude or Guitar Rig.

I actually use Guitar Rig with Garageband for recording and it could not be easier and for what I do, basically the same things you mentioned, I couldn't be happier with this combo. Also I am in no way a pro at recording, I just find this method extremely easy and you still get a pretty damn good sound.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rammikin
post Jul 20 2012, 03:15 PM
Post #8


Experienced Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 255
Joined: 4-November 10
Member No.: 11.529



QUOTE (Fran @ Jul 20 2012, 10:38 AM) *
The easiest way to record is getting a cheap POD, or similar device.
They are like external sound cards which use USB to obtain great sound with no latency. They also come packed with modelling software (amps) and effects.

Then you'll also need a different program to actually record what you hear, like Reaper, which is free to try.



This.

If you are at all unsure about how to get started setting up a rig to record guitar, follow this advice and get something like a Line6 Pod. This is flexible, inexpensive and simple. Other options, like using a software amp emulator or micing an amp have their advantages, but are more complex, so it's probably best not to start with those. It will be easy enough later to switch to a software amp, after you get your feet wet, if you'd like to use Todd's excellent patches.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tonymiro
post Jul 20 2012, 03:24 PM
Post #9


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.011
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Just to add...

It's worth time getting the recording as best as you can. Don't assume that you can correct recording issues at mixing etc. With the recording make sure you leave enough room below digital zero so that you do not clip and to also let you add any additional tracks/instruments etc and also effects/dynamics processing.

With regard to clipping - most daws and prosumer adcs don't show clipping particularly well - you can clip without the red clip light coming on. Because of this it is good practice to peak at about -12 to -6 dB and not come close to 0dBFS. You can always brng the level up when the stereo track's ready for mastering.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JesseJ
post Jul 20 2012, 04:03 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 283
Joined: 11-March 12
Member No.: 15.413



QUOTE (gregc1 @ Jul 20 2012, 02:15 PM) *
I think he actually meant that the guitar emulations in GARAGE BAND are lame. So use an Amplitude or Guitar Rig.

I actually use Guitar Rig with Garageband for recording and it could not be easier and for what I do, basically the same things you mentioned, I couldn't be happier with this combo. Also I am in no way a pro at recording, I just find this method extremely easy and you still get a pretty damn good sound.


Oh that would make more sense. Sweet I will have to look into guitar rig.

QUOTE (Rammikin @ Jul 20 2012, 02:15 PM) *
This.

If you are at all unsure about how to get started setting up a rig to record guitar, follow this advice and get something like a Line6 Pod. This is flexible, inexpensive and simple. Other options, like using a software amp emulator or micing an amp have their advantages, but are more complex, so it's probably best not to start with those. It will be easy enough later to switch to a software amp, after you get your feet wet, if you'd like to use Todd's excellent patches.

I never thought about that option. So then I would just plug directly into the floor pod and use the effects on the floor pod, and just record that ?


QUOTE (Rammikin @ Jul 20 2012, 02:15 PM) *
This.

If you are at all unsure about how to get started setting up a rig to record guitar, follow this advice and get something like a Line6 Pod. This is flexible, inexpensive and simple. Other options, like using a software amp emulator or micing an amp have their advantages, but are more complex, so it's probably best not to start with those. It will be easy enough later to switch to a software amp, after you get your feet wet, if you'd like to use Todd's excellent patches.


What POD do you use ?


--------------------
Never miss an opportunity to play
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tonymiro
post Jul 20 2012, 04:06 PM
Post #11


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.011
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (JesseJ @ Jul 20 2012, 04:03 PM) *
.... So then I would just plug directly into the floor pod and use the effects on the floor pod, and just record that ?
...


You can but if you use effects and dynamic processors whilst recording they will be very diifficult to remove/alter at a later stage. In most situations you would be better of recording dry and adding effects etc later.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thefireball
post Jul 20 2012, 04:50 PM
Post #12


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.275
Joined: 9-March 10
From: United States, Arkansas
Member No.: 9.801



QUOTE (tonymiro @ Jul 20 2012, 09:24 AM) *
With regard to clipping - most daws and prosumer adcs don't show clipping particularly well - you can clip without the red clip light coming on. Because of this it is good practice to peak at about -12 to -6 dB and not come close to 0dBFS. You can always brng the level up when the stereo track's ready for mastering.


Cool! I didn't know this! I guess I will keep my levels low in Reaper, as my interface can boost perceived volume quite well. smile.gif


--------------------


Bandcamp
Facebook Band Page
Official YouTube Channel
Twitter

My Three Year Guitar Evolution

Subscribe to my other YouTube
Sample my projects on SoundCloud

My success is all because of God.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JesseJ
post Jul 20 2012, 06:42 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 283
Joined: 11-March 12
Member No.: 15.413



So I phoned my music store and they said I can take my interface back. So now I dont know if I should get a different interface and a mic or a line 6 pod ? Line 6 pod seems to be a bit esier to use and cheaper. What do you guys think what are the pro's and cons of each ?


--------------------
Never miss an opportunity to play
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TreyDeschamp
post Jul 20 2012, 06:46 PM
Post #14


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.058
Joined: 1-May 08
From: Diamondhead, MS
Member No.: 5.023



QUOTE (JesseJ @ Jul 20 2012, 12:42 PM) *
So I phoned my music store and they said I can take my interface back. So now I dont know if I should get a different interface and a mic or a line 6 pod ? Line 6 pod seems to be a bit esier to use and cheaper. What do you guys think what are the pro's and cons of each ?



POD Pros:
Reliable, easy to use and is continually evolving (the interface that comes with it)

Cons:
It might not be as complex.

A high tech interface Pros:

Good recording features, lots of bells and whistles

Cons:
Most likely not made for just REC takes or things of that nature, complex, expensive.


--------------------
Check out my Youtube!
Add me on Facebook!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tonymiro
post Jul 21 2012, 12:55 PM
Post #15


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.011
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (thefireball @ Jul 20 2012, 04:50 PM) *
Cool! I didn't know this! I guess I will keep my levels low in Reaper, as my interface can boost perceived volume quite well. smile.gif


Great to hear Brandon smile.gif . Years ago gain staging - and my post is partly about gain staging- was one of the first things I got taught in a pro studio. Nowadays it's just as important but most people, including some pros, seem unaware of it. You can buy the best mics, preamps and interface that you can afford but if you don't gainstage you're not using it to its best and it can sound worse than cheaper equipment that is properly set up...


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JesseJ
post Jul 21 2012, 02:13 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 283
Joined: 11-March 12
Member No.: 15.413



QUOTE (tonymiro @ Jul 21 2012, 11:55 AM) *
Great to hear Brandon smile.gif . Years ago gain staging - and my post is partly about gain staging- was one of the first things I got taught in a pro studio. Nowadays it's just as important but most people, including some pros, seem unaware of it. You can buy the best mics, preamps and interface that you can afford but if you don't gainstage you're not using it to its best and it can sound worse than cheaper equipment that is properly set up...


What is Gain staging ? /i have never heard of that before, then again this is the first time I have ever got into recording.

One thing I was thinking is one advantge a interface has over a pod is that you would learn how to properly mic an amp which I think would be a very important thing to know how to do.


--------------------
Never miss an opportunity to play
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tonymiro
post Jul 21 2012, 03:23 PM
Post #17


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.011
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (JesseJ @ Jul 21 2012, 02:13 PM) *
What is Gain staging ? /i have never heard of that before, then again this is the first time I have ever got into recording.


In recording etc you need to make good use of the dynamic range of your equipment and that means having as little noise as possible as well as having as a good signal level. Eveything that you add to the input/output chain has the potenital to add noise - preamps, eqs, compressors, limiters, ADC and so on - as you vary the signal between the devices input and output. Analogue gainstaging in basic terms is ensuring that the increase in noise is kept to an absolute minimum whilst achieving suitable level. If you don't gainstage properly then as you increase the signal's level you will not get any signal to noise benefit as all you will do is increase the noise.

With digital gainstaging there are also issues to do with ensuring that you do not exceed 0dBFS and so clip the convertors. That may sound simple as your recording device and your DAW have peak meters but the problem is that they are not very accurate and they do not always show clipping. It is perfectly possible to digitally clip with out a peak meter showing it. This is made more complicated as a lot of digital vsts can also internally sum and so add additional, unwanted gain to the input without it being shown on the meter. All of this means that you can clip the output even if your meters show you're set below 0dBFS. To be on the safe side it's often best thus to use a conservative -8dB peak level for the focal track, even adding processing and extra tracks should not pull the level up to more than @-3dB and so leave room for final mastering.

If you want to know more about this and other recording/mixing/mastering things Jesse try and take a look at some of the threads I've started.


QUOTE
One thing I was thinking is one advantge a interface has over a pod is that you would learn how to properly mic an amp which I think would be a very important thing to know how to do.


Absolutely. However recording with mics and preamps is more expensive and can also take longer to get to grips with.

This post has been edited by tonymiro: Jul 21 2012, 03:25 PM


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JesseJ
post Jul 22 2012, 05:13 AM
Post #18


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 283
Joined: 11-March 12
Member No.: 15.413



I would love to check out your threads where could I find them ?


--------------------
Never miss an opportunity to play
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jul 22 2012, 07:37 AM
Post #19


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.268
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



QUOTE (JesseJ @ Jul 22 2012, 12:13 AM) *
I would love to check out your threads where could I find them ?


Just search TONY MIRO smile.gif He's got some great stuff! As for the POD/VS Scarlett,

At this point, you just need to get started. So Honestly, a pod, connected USB to your computer will get you moving and allow you to have decent tone recorded in to your computer.

It's simple, easy, and quick.

You can't change the fx once they are recorded if you use a hardware POD since they are baked in. But at this point, this early on in your journey, it honestly may not matter that much. Maybe pushing you toward an interface is setting you to far ahead of yourself. You can use a POD for live work with the addition of a foot pedal, and can record with it. And can use it as an interface and still use plugins like AMPLITUDE in garage band. So yeah, you can always get a proper interface and microphone later smile.gif

At this point, get something, start recording REC takes and PRACTICE! smile.gif You can reach a point where your spending too much time worrying about gear/plugins/etc. and find your not actually playing / recording enough to get any better. Skip that, practice!
smile.gif

Todd


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2014 - 03:13 AM