0 0

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording In Flat, Recording in my flat through amp sims
Nicolas C
post Dec 25 2012, 03:41 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 23-December 12
From: France
Member No.: 17.240



Hey guys,
I finally signed up to this site after drooling over the videos for a couple of year!
I need some help though because I need equipement to record in my flat. Right now I plug my guitar to a Focusrite 2i2 into Guitar rig 4. The thing is I'm not satisfied with this software, it's isn't as natural as I would like it to be. I would also like to have similar sounds live. So now I am looking at rack unit such as the Line 6 Pod HD pro and Eleven Rack and Axe FX etc...
I use Logic so the Eleven Rack doesn't seem to be a good idea and I use dual amps very often and it doesn't have that feature.
This isn't a Line6 vs Axe FX II vs Eleven Rack post.

What I would like to know is:

What do you guys think?
Are there any other options?

Thanks!


--------------------
Gear: -Fender Amercian Deluxe Tele -Ibanez RG2550Z
-Arturia Keylab 61 -Eleven Rack -Bugera V22 -Laboga The Beast -M-audio Bx5a

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/soft-square
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JamesT
post Dec 25 2012, 04:36 AM
Post #2


Accomplished Tone Master
*

Group: Members
Posts: 750
Joined: 12-April 08
From: USA, NV
Member No.: 4.872



I suppose if I weren't concerned about the cost at all, I would go for an Axe-Fx. But not having a store in the area that stocks them prevents me from forming any kind of meaningful opinion about whether or not one of them would be worth the $$$. On the other hand, I do own an HD500 which I hear has the same amp modelling and effects as the similar "Pro" unit. I think the pro unit offers addional I/O of one type or another but I'm not sure of the specifics. I like the tone and effects quality of my HD500 though. It was definately an improvement over the X3 Live (that I still have) especially in terms of dynamics. The distortions are less "fizzy" and the cleans are much more punchy. The dynamics of the amp models are noticeable if you want to use the unit as you would a real amp where in certain situations you might want to back off on the volume knob with your guitar, the tone stays punchy but cleans up a bit. When you roll on to full volume you still can get a nice overdriven lead sound as you might expect from a real amp.

Another nice feature of the HD500 is "Line 6 Monkey" which automates updates to the HD500 Flash. It goes out to the web, connects to Line6 and checks your flash version against the latest version supported by the company. You get automatic free updates. "Line 6 Edit" is also worth mentioning. It hooks to the HD unit via USB and allows you to edit your presets from your PC. This is way easier than trying to use the knobs and buttons of the hardware itself.

For recording, it's great cause you can simultaneously record the modeled/effected sound and the raw/dry sound from you guitar right through USB. Then at mix-down, if you aren't 100% satisfied with your tone from the HD, you can re-amp the clean signal to get a better mix.

This post has been edited by JamesT: Dec 25 2012, 04:43 AM


--------------------


Check out my YouTube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Dec 26 2012, 11:40 PM
Post #3


GMC Admin & Bass Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.044
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



I know what you mean! I'm also looking for a solution to record "awesome sounding guitars" at home studio! smile.gif
From what I have found so far - great sound card + Axe FX seems like my best bet to be able to record very good sounding guitars. Its just another world in comparison to software modeling.

Also - I think in this new technology age we are getting more and more options to record very decent recordings in home studios which was impossible just a few years back. Recording guitars "the usual way" is just hard : you need a very good treated room, excellent amp, mic, preamp, knowledge how to do it.... Its just too complicated.

Axe Fx and similar units are starting to "delete this barrier", I think...


--------------------
Need to ask about anything GMC related? Send me a pm
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 11 2013, 08:18 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 9.829
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Fear not wink.gif The problem you are having is quite common. The good news is, you are on the right path by pushing toward good tone and asking questions. Here are some answers smile.gif

1.)Axe Fx RAWKS
-The unit is just amazing. They release a new version every year or two so they become outdated pretty quick, but you can always sell it on ebay to get a new one, or just keep it and let it do what it does.

2.)Software Guitars
-I use emulators/sims to record everything these days but it has taken me a couple of years to get good presets built. It's an arduous/tedious process especially at first. LUCKILY I"ve done it for ya!

Here is a link to my GUITAR RIG 4 (They can be imported in to Guitar Rig 5) PATCH ARCHIVE.
-Wads of High Gain solo tones and other bits mixed it.

http://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...showtopic=37629


Todd

QUOTE (Nicolas C @ Dec 24 2012, 09:41 PM) *
Hey guys,
I finally signed up to this site after drooling over the videos for a couple of year!
I need some help though because I need equipement to record in my flat. Right now I plug my guitar to a Focusrite 2i2 into Guitar rig 4. The thing is I'm not satisfied with this software, it's isn't as natural as I would like it to be. I would also like to have similar sounds live. So now I am looking at rack unit such as the Line 6 Pod HD pro and Eleven Rack and Axe FX etc...
I use Logic so the Eleven Rack doesn't seem to be a good idea and I use dual amps very often and it doesn't have that feature.
This isn't a Line6 vs Axe FX II vs Eleven Rack post.

What I would like to know is:

What do you guys think?
Are there any other options?

Thanks!



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ConnorGilks
post Jan 12 2013, 08:20 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 230
Joined: 1-December 12
From: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Member No.: 17.078



Welcome dude! Can I ask what type of music you're looking to record? It can help us out more if we know what you play. I don't wanna recommend an expensive mult-effects unit or software package if another option does your style of music better. biggrin.gif

QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Jan 11 2013, 07:18 AM) *
1.)Axe Fx RAWKS
-The unit is just amazing. They release a new version every year or two so they become outdated pretty quick, but you can always sell it on ebay to get a new one, or just keep it and let it do what it does.


Not true at all. Cliff said 3 years MINIMUM before an AxeFX III comes out. It does not become outdated. I would still use an Ultra because it still sounds awesome. Just because a new version comes out doesn't make the old one worse than it is! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ConnorGilks: Jan 12 2013, 08:21 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Jan 13 2013, 02:35 AM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 21.426
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



As everybody said here, AXE seems to be the best option, but it depends on your budget, if you can't achieve it, I can recommend Pod HD 500 which is a really good unit. I use it for my lessons and for demo songs and it really does its job.


--------------------
My lessons

Don't miss my New Guitar Session at VCHAT,
this Wednesday at 20 hs (London Time).

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my compositions at:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post Jan 15 2013, 08:45 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.638
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



Depending exactly what you're after there's always this as an option:-

biggrin.gif


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Jan 16 2013, 09:09 AM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.333
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Mate, if you are looking for a great tone, I recommend this little dude right here - the AMT SS20- it has three channels: clean, crunch, gain and that's all you need. I add the FX in the DAW using various pluggins and that's about it. It is a great analogue tube preamp and it will sound more organic than anything in its price range!

Check out this link for tech specs -> http://amtelectronicsusa.com/productpagess20.html





--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Jan 16 2013, 03:50 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 21.426
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



QUOTE (Cosmin Lupu @ Jan 16 2013, 05:09 AM) *
Mate, if you are looking for a great tone, I recommend this little dude right here - the AMT SS20- it has three channels: clean, crunch, gain and that's all you need. I add the FX in the DAW using various pluggins and that's about it. It is a great analogue tube preamp and it will sound more organic than anything in its price range!

Check out this link for tech specs -> http://amtelectronicsusa.com/productpagess20.html




Do you just record by line with this one and get a good tone?


--------------------
My lessons

Don't miss my New Guitar Session at VCHAT,
this Wednesday at 20 hs (London Time).

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my compositions at:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Jan 16 2013, 10:27 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.333
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



QUOTE (Gabriel Leopardi @ Jan 16 2013, 02:50 PM) *
Do you just record by line with this one and get a good tone?


Yes mate, I just plug it in the soundboard and that's it - Almost all of my lessons here have been recorded with this little dude smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andre Nieri
post Jan 17 2013, 01:33 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 116
Joined: 3-January 12
Member No.: 14.766



You can save some money and build an isolated room in your house (if it's not too small). That's what I'm doing right now.

If you're on a budget and your house is small, I think the AXE FX, KEMPER PROFILING AMP and POD HD500 are the best options,
followed by the famous plugins, like Amplitube, GR etc.

I don't know anything about this pedal Cosmin is talking about but for sure it sounds good too.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Jan 17 2013, 09:09 AM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.333
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



QUOTE (Andre Nieri @ Jan 17 2013, 12:33 AM) *
You can save some money and build an isolated room in your house (if it's not too small). That's what I'm doing right now.

If you're on a budget and your house is small, I think the AXE FX, KEMPER PROFILING AMP and POD HD500 are the best options,
followed by the famous plugins, like Amplitube, GR etc.

I don't know anything about this pedal Cosmin is talking about but for sure it sounds good too.


Thanks Andre smile.gif The solution I suggested is the tube handy one, so no fx included or any other extra things. I will buy this thing next month:



I was very happy with the tones we got from it when recording some Days of Confusion demos - I have also posted them here on GMC so that everyone may get them: http://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...showtopic=41250

This post has been edited by Cosmin Lupu: Jan 17 2013, 09:10 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PosterBoy
post Jan 18 2013, 12:27 PM
Post #13


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.046
Joined: 26-October 11
From: Galway, Ireland
Member No.: 14.225



Pete Thorn made a very basic iso room in a closet, and recorded his Guitar Nerd Album with it.




--------------------
Currently Working on

PosterBoy's Modern Riffing with Gabriel

PosterBoy's Bootcamp with Todd



Gear
Tyler Burning Water 2K
Burny RLG90 with BK Emeralds
Fender US Tele with BK Piledrivers
Axe Fx Ultra - GCP Pro
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 18 2013, 04:11 PM
Post #14


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 9.829
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Sorry I should have said "Every 2 or 3 years" which is the release schedule for all versions so far.

Axe-Fx, was introduced in 2006. Axe-Fx Ultra was introduced in 2008. Both of these models were discontinued in June 2011 when a new unit, the Axe-Fx II was introduced.

So there's that smile.gif

You do bring up a good point about playing the "Outdated" versions, I"d play the oldest version they have and be THRILLED about it. smile.gif If you are the type to want the "Latest and Greatest" updating your plugins can be pretty simple. For example, every update of OVERLOUD has been FREE. But updating your AXE FX has so far required buying a new unit.

Todd

QUOTE (ConnorGilks @ Jan 12 2013, 02:20 PM) *
Welcome dude! Can I ask what type of music you're looking to record? It can help us out more if we know what you play. I don't wanna recommend an expensive mult-effects unit or software package if another option does your style of music better. biggrin.gif

Not true at all. Cliff said 3 years MINIMUM before an AxeFX III comes out. It does not become outdated. I would still use an Ultra because it still sounds awesome. Just because a new version comes out doesn't make the old one worse than it is! biggrin.gif


COS!!! Welcome to the Wonderful World of Software Amp Modelling!!! smile.gif

The TONEPORT is a great way jump in. No muss, no fuss, plug in and BINGO!


*The really GOOD NEWS is that the TONE PORT will act as an interface for just about any VST guitar plugin like OVERLOUD/AMPLITUDE etc.!!

Todd
QUOTE (Cosmin Lupu @ Jan 17 2013, 03:09 AM) *
Thanks Andre smile.gif The solution I suggested is the tube handy one, so no fx included or any other extra things. I will buy this thing next month:



I was very happy with the tones we got from it when recording some Days of Confusion demos - I have also posted them here on GMC so that everyone may get them: http://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...showtopic=41250



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Jan 19 2013, 09:06 AM
Post #15


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.333
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Thanks Todd! Have you tried those patches I posted? biggrin.gif This little midget can pack in a strong punch!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PosterBoy
post Jan 19 2013, 09:20 AM
Post #16


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.046
Joined: 26-October 11
From: Galway, Ireland
Member No.: 14.225



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Jan 18 2013, 03:11 PM) *
Sorry I should have said "Every 2 or 3 years" which is the release schedule for all versions so far.

Axe-Fx, was introduced in 2006. Axe-Fx Ultra was introduced in 2008. Both of these models were discontinued in June 2011 when a new unit, the Axe-Fx II was introduced.

So there's that smile.gif

You do bring up a good point about playing the "Outdated" versions, I"d play the oldest version they have and be THRILLED about it. smile.gif If you are the type to want the "Latest and Greatest" updating your plugins can be pretty simple. For example, every update of OVERLOUD has been FREE. But updating your AXE FX has so far required buying a new unit.

Todd



COS!!! Welcome to the Wonderful World of Software Amp Modelling!!! smile.gif

The TONEPORT is a great way jump in. No muss, no fuss, plug in and BINGO!


*The really GOOD NEWS is that the TONE PORT will act as an interface for just about any VST guitar plugin like OVERLOUD/AMPLITUDE etc.!!

Todd



Hardware updates yes, but if you look the firmware updates come very quickly and free from Cliff. Axe II is already on v11, his updates includes improved sound quality additional amps cabs and effects. Line 6 and Eleven Rack would charge for these types of upgrades and leaving you hanging for months for them after they'd been promised.

Cliff took the Axe Ultra as far as the hardware would allow, his new algorithms for better amp modelling meant a complete new format and a dedicated TigerSHARC processor was needed just for the amps and another for effects (allowing for even better effects).

It's no different really than a plugin spec saying it needs a 64 bit O\S and DAW or so much Ram or processing power to work.


Oh dear have I turned into a Fractal Audio Fanboi laugh.gif


--------------------
Currently Working on

PosterBoy's Modern Riffing with Gabriel

PosterBoy's Bootcamp with Todd



Gear
Tyler Burning Water 2K
Burny RLG90 with BK Emeralds
Fender US Tele with BK Piledrivers
Axe Fx Ultra - GCP Pro
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 21 2013, 08:58 AM
Post #17


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 9.829
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



I have the DEMO version Pod Farm so I don't have all the AMPS used in your patches sad.gif The demo version just has the basic gear sorta like Amplitude Free. But no matter, the important thing is you've jumped in to Modeling!!!

QUOTE (Cosmin Lupu @ Jan 19 2013, 03:06 AM) *
Thanks Todd! Have you tried those patches I posted? biggrin.gif This little midget can pack in a strong punch!



Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge FANBOY of Fractal and hope to one day have my very own AXE FX smile.gif I'd have to sell my kidney/spleen/liver etc., but someday. I"d like to haev even the first available unit as it still sounds amazing IMHO. So I"m not bagging on him or his product.

My point was that hardware is just a bit more of a commitment. There's no way around it. Not that it's a bad thing, it just "is" and therefore worth considering. We can look at it however we want, and put it in any perspective we like, but the bottom line remains, just like buying a really nice Amp, Head, cab, etc. Hardware has built in limits even if it's a Ferrari. Ferrari's are awesome, of course smile.gif So my entire point was to simply point this out.

Having said that, I still want one. I"d love to have one. I'm hoping to get one. smile.gif But it may be a while. I like trying out new gear, guitars etc. And for the price of an AXE FX, I might buy and sell 5 or 6 different guitars over the course of a year. I ran through that many and about $1200 on guitars in 2012. Not to mention foot pedals etc. Of course, the AXE can do pretty much everything I might ever need, but it's still once piece. I like to "date" most of my gear, and that price point requires a "Marriage" for me smile.gif

Todd


QUOTE (PosterBoy @ Jan 19 2013, 03:20 AM) *
Hardware updates yes, but if you look the firmware updates come very quickly and free from Cliff. Axe II is already on v11, his updates includes improved sound quality additional amps cabs and effects. Line 6 and Eleven Rack would charge for these types of upgrades and leaving you hanging for months for them after they'd been promised.

Cliff took the Axe Ultra as far as the hardware would allow, his new algorithms for better amp modelling meant a complete new format and a dedicated TigerSHARC processor was needed just for the amps and another for effects (allowing for even better effects).

It's no different really than a plugin spec saying it needs a 64 bit O\S and DAW or so much Ram or processing power to work.


Oh dear have I turned into a Fractal Audio Fanboi laugh.gif



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PosterBoy
post Jan 21 2013, 01:15 PM
Post #18


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.046
Joined: 26-October 11
From: Galway, Ireland
Member No.: 14.225



I agree on the commitment side of things as a purchase, but from my point of view the price meant that I had to commit to learning how to use it, and to take it seriously as a Professional piece of gear, I'm not sure I would have had the same attitude with Line 6.

Sometimes commitment is a good thing.

I committed to my Tyler BW and the Axe and since then my mind has been much more free to think about playing and progressing than thinking about gear. I'm not saying the G.A.S has completely gone but it is well under control (getting married contributed to that as well) but having pricey pro gear means if I can't play as well as I want or have the tone I want, it ain't the gear that's the problem!!!

This post has been edited by PosterBoy: Jan 21 2013, 01:16 PM


--------------------
Currently Working on

PosterBoy's Modern Riffing with Gabriel

PosterBoy's Bootcamp with Todd



Gear
Tyler Burning Water 2K
Burny RLG90 with BK Emeralds
Fender US Tele with BK Piledrivers
Axe Fx Ultra - GCP Pro
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 24 2013, 04:23 AM
Post #19


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 9.829
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



"Sometimes commitment is a good thing." Well said smile.gif

QUOTE (PosterBoy @ Jan 21 2013, 07:15 AM) *
I agree on the commitment side of things as a purchase, but from my point of view the price meant that I had to commit to learning how to use it, and to take it seriously as a Professional piece of gear, I'm not sure I would have had the same attitude with Line 6.

Sometimes commitment is a good thing.

I committed to my Tyler BW and the Axe and since then my mind has been much more free to think about playing and progressing than thinking about gear. I'm not saying the G.A.S has completely gone but it is well under control (getting married contributed to that as well) but having pricey pro gear means if I can't play as well as I want or have the tone I want, it ain't the gear that's the problem!!!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Jan 24 2013, 08:36 AM
Post #20


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.333
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Commitment is a good thing in a lot of cases - commitment to bad stuff is a bad thing laugh.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2014 - 02:03 AM