0 0

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Garage Band For Mac
radarlove1984
post Nov 17 2007, 01:51 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 170
Joined: 19-January 07
Member No.: 1.092



I just bought a Mac for the first time last week and I'm trying to figure out how to use Garage Band. I've been a Windows user my whole life and usually record with Audacity and my Pod XT Live.

Does anyone use Garage Band? There's a huge support file for it, but like any self-respecting man, I don't want to sit down and read the manual for it. The software seems straight forward enough, but I'm not sure how to go about connecting my guitar.

I plug into a Pod XT Live, and then plug that into the Mac. Now what do I do?


Any advice would be great. Or if anyone's used this and thinks it sucks, let me know before I waste time messing with it. I didn't even know it came with the computer, but since it's there I thought I'd check it out.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marcus Lavendell
post Nov 17 2007, 05:58 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 2.537
Joined: 27-May 07
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Member No.: 1.927



QUOTE (radarlove1984 @ Nov 17 2007, 01:51 PM) *
like any self-respecting man, I don't want to sit down and read the manual for it.

+1 laugh.gif

QUOTE
I plug into a Pod XT Live, and then plug that into the Mac. Now what do I do?

I believe the next thing you should to is to let your Mac know what input the POD is connected to, and set that as the standard sound input.

Go to System settings / Sound, and select the right source. Now if you play on the guitar you should see the signal on the meter.

I've only tried GarageBand once, but I guess the only thing you need to do now is to start GarageBand, select the right input on a track, and hit record.


--------------------
I use Elixir® Strings

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tank
post Nov 17 2007, 06:19 PM
Post #3


GMC Veteran
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 666
Joined: 20-August 05
From: Shropshire UK
Member No.: 5



Generally when using garageband, if I'm putting in a new instrument. "Select Track>New Track", from the menu. Specify that you want a "real instrument". Then if you select "Track>Show Track Info", the information for the track will appear on the left. I don't know specifically about the Pod XT, but if it accessible, you should be able to select it in the input menu. If it isn't, you might have to check the preferences "Garageband>Preferences" from the top menu. In there you can select your audio/midi inputs.

Garageband is a lot easier to use than logic or reason. It's got some really nice wysiwyg sample manipulation controls, that help, rather than getting in the way.

I tend to score in garageband for projects and then port it into logic or reason to develop the synth instruments and effects and to master. Tends to be the most productive way (for me), as I don't fall into the trap of tweaking effects for an hour, before I've actually got any music written. smile.gif

Happy new mac! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
radarlove1984
post Nov 18 2007, 05:53 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 170
Joined: 19-January 07
Member No.: 1.092



Got it to work! Thanks for the help, guys.


That thing's actually pretty cool. I'm completely new to recording, so the basic setup is really useful.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rock
post Nov 18 2007, 10:25 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 168
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Londonderry, New Hampshire USA
Member No.: 1.285



QUOTE (radarlove1984 @ Nov 17 2007, 07:51 AM) *
I just bought a Mac for the first time last week and I'm trying to figure out how to use Garage Band. I've been a Windows user my whole life and usually record with Audacity and my Pod XT Live.

Does anyone use Garage Band? There's a huge support file for it, but like any self-respecting man, I don't want to sit down and read the manual for it. The software seems straight forward enough, but I'm not sure how to go about connecting my guitar.

I plug into a Pod XT Live, and then plug that into the Mac. Now what do I do?
Any advice would be great. Or if anyone's used this and thinks it sucks, let me know before I waste time messing with it. I didn't even know it came with the computer, but since it's there I thought I'd check it out.

Thanks



First of all, congrats on the Mac. It's the best thing I ever did. By the way, did you know that if you have a program that only runs on Windows that MAC OS is capable of running Windows as well. It will automatically partition for you....oh, and welcome to the world where you can now trust your operating system to filter out spam and viruses without paying extra money.

I've been meaning to spend some time with Gargage Band but I don't have a pod xt so I don't really have any way of hooking my guitar up without spending more dough.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
radarlove1984
post Nov 19 2007, 06:13 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 170
Joined: 19-January 07
Member No.: 1.092



Now that I've had a few days to play around with it, Garage Band is great. It's REALLY simple to get a backing track playing, and the deep editing is complicated enough to confuse the crap out of me so it must be good! Haha (I'm completely new to recording though)

I really like this Mac. I've been using Windows 98 since, well, 1998 and the upgrade is awesome. Using my student discount, Windows Vista is so cheap they're practically giving it away at our school. I just installed a copy of it yesterday and now I can still use my Rhapsody subscription with the Mac.

The Mac really is great though. I'd recommend it to anyone at this point. The only learning curve involved is trying to realize that everything really is simple and straight forward. It's such a weird feeling having a computer that actually does what you want it to do.

Rock on!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tonymiro
post Nov 19 2007, 11:27 AM
Post #7


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.123
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Just a quick comment and a minor heads up for those with Macs.

Comment first - I think most mac hardware is driverless (some pc is as well) so should be a lot easier to install and get up and running then good old XP.

Heads up - Logic v8 has just been released and it's come down in price a lot - about 1/2 the price of v7. If you're on a Mac and looking for a 'big name' pro end sequencer then take a look.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st September 2014 - 07:41 PM