Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Sucking On Guitar
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > PRACTICE ROOM
OrganisedConfusion
I have been playing guitar for 5 years and I really suck in my opinion even though others think I'm pretty good on guitar but mainly songwriting. I can't play any of my favourite songs still and it really makes me want to quit because that is surely one reason to play guitar to be able to play your favourite songs. I'm making steps towards becoming better by 1st joining this awesome resource of lessons and secondly I am having guitar lessons now off of David C Bond off these forums so hopefully he steers me in the right direction. I really want to get faster on guitar to be able to play my favourite songs for example Symphony X songs, Death songs and to be able to solo well.

What I wondered is what solos would you class as building in difficulty between incredibly easy to doable but difficult and if you could give me 10 solos in order of difficulty that are worth learning in popular rock and metal songs. For example Deep Purple, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Derek and the Dominos, Rush etc. I'd be very grateful if you can help me out with this sliding scale of solo difficulty and also if you could tell me what technique lessons help with each song and maybe this can help others improve their soloing. smile.gif
ZakkWylde
I am playing guitar for 1 and 1/2 year now and I can play these songs including the solos, a few of them might be too easy for you:

Black Sabbath-Iron Man
Motörhead-Ace Of Spades
Judas Priest-You've got another thing coming
Deep Purple-Smoke on the Water
Iron Maiden-The Trooper
Metallica-Enter Sandman
Pantera-Cowboys from hell
Ozzy Osbourne-Crazy Train
Slayer-Angel Of Death

The first ones are quite easy to master, the last ones are really hard to nail so you can work your way through like I did. Hope this helps.
Muris Varajic
5 years is too small period to play tunes and solos by Symphony X imho. smile.gif