Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How Long Do You Take To Learn A Lesson Here At Gmc
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > PRACTICE ROOM
FFranco
This is just a fun poll to see how long does a member take to learn a lesson here at GMC.
Artemus
It really does depend on the lesson - if it's something I can handle and isn't beyond my technical capabilities then a day usually suffices. However, I don't get anywhere by just learning things I can already handle so I tend to push myself to play harder lessons and so it boils down to how long it takes for me to master a technique to a certain level.. weeks, months, years maybe.
JVM
As artemus says, it depends on the lesson. If its something within my abilities, then yeah a day will do. Otherwise, I usually spend at least a week on a lesson beyond my ability. Often more. There is one lesson I've been working on for two years tongue.gif*

*not really "working on", but started and haven't finished
sigma7
i learn everything the lesson has to offer such as theiry harmony, improv, etc
lcsdds
There are some lessons I will probably never finish. Muris has me working on his AP etude.....it has really improved my AP but I can only play it really clean at 80 bpm and he plays it at 150 bpm. That to me is something that I will be working on for as long as it takes to master. A year, 2 years....who knows. Artemus has it right though.....depends on if I have the technical capabilities to play whatever is in the lesson. smile.gif
FFranco
I can agree with all of you. It really does depend on mastering the technique and I have had the experience to take months to master a technique. Thanks for all the responses this really helps us learn what practice time is all about.
superize
It really depends on the lesson...... Lians rythm lesson i can learn in acouple of hour bur Muris lesson i need Days and even weeks to learn depending on the difficulty
Canis