Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Languages
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > CHILL OUT
Michael AC
Aside from English, I am curious as to what language is most widely spoken by members since we are such a diverse group.

In that language is there a specific dialect or flavor?

The Uncreator
Aside from my expert Engrish, I can vaguely understand German. Terrible at writing it, and I probably only use the proper article (der, die, das) about 1/3 of the time laugh.gif
del-4fr53e3
I speak Norwegian and English. At school I studied French for 5 years (but I am lousy at it and I don't remember much). I've also been learning japanese for a couple of years, but I am only learning smile.gif
PosterBoy
Slowly learning Portuguese (Brazilian) I'm not good at languages though sad.gif
Gitarrero
Besides english I can speak german (my mothertongue). Since I am from the northwest (called Muensterland) I can speak with a northern dialect, which would still be very understandable even when you just learned the language. Now I live in the southwest where people speak a really weird dialect and I honestly don't always get what they say laugh.gif
I used to be good at french, I can still read it at a good level and also understand most of what people would say to me in french, but talking in french is pretty tough smile.gif
I am learning spanish at the moment, and I gotta say I understand pretty much when I read or listen to someone, I think it's because some words are similar to the french or even english words, just pronounced differently.
I also speak a tiny bit of japanese and am cuurently working on that as well.
snackajacks
In the netherlands we speak dutch but where I live in the south, we have an dialect called 'limburgs' it sounds like
the german language. My education is in english because its an international one. Further I have learned some words french.
edguy
Well i'm speaking, ich spreche, je parle, English, Deutsch (German) and française (french).