Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Practicing Alternate Picking Both Ways
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > PRACTICE ROOM
Cosmin Lupu
When I started practicing seriously, I was studying with a dude who was totally obsessed (and still is, to the point of confounding himself with him) with John Petrucci.

One good thing I have learned though and I remembered, so I thought it would be of great use to everyone, would be his advice regarding picking direction:

When you learn a lick involving picking, practice it starting with a down stroke and continuing accordingly and after that, start with an upstroke and continue accordingly. This will not only develop great alternate picking flexibility, but it will also be a means of saving oneself in the middle of a song onstage, when a mistake is made and the picking direction is altered - the chances of picking things up from the point in which the mistake was made, will greatly increase.

Have you guys ever tried this? Does it feel awkward? smile.gif
PosterBoy
I don't but I do notice I naturally start some phrases on an upstroke, and it does help avoid inside picking (one of my many weaknesses)
Darius Wave
I agree that this is good point because learning the same lick with different picking direction is like learning two different licks. Anyway...personally i was always up to keep 100% consequence while practicing so the altered picking problem never really bothered me. I was always trying to build a habbit of good picking direction to the rhythm assignment. I this this also work well.
Gabriel Leopardi
Can't agree more with this. I also learnt this from John Petrucci's Rock Disclipline clinic. I used to practice those exercises in both ways and I usually try to be able to play the same ideas starting with different pick directions. This is something that beginner students should really have in mind. Well done reminding this Cosmin!
klasaine