Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Audio Interface
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > PRACTICE ROOM
Hajduk
I am curious to know I'm just starting to learn how to use my Audio interface its a Focusrite 2i2. When you plug your guitar into the audio interface do you go direct or use pedals before plugging it in directly? Hope that makes sense!!
benetom
Do as you wish m8. You can use effects from computer or use real hardware before audiointerface.
Gabriel Leopardi
Exactly, both options are ok. If you have a really good hardware processor, you can add it before the interface, if not, I recommend to use directly the amp simulators which can give great results.

There is a trick shared by Todd, that consists on adding a tube screamer before the audio interface as a preamp, to get a better result with amp simulators, so if you have one, or even a clone, try it.

Hajduk
Thank you. smile.gif And yes I have the Ibanez Tube screamer smile.gif
Bogdan Radovic
You can safely connect pedals up front, before going into the interface. I personally like to go direct and not mix "real" with "software modeling". Having said this, you can get certainly nice results using pedals in front of the audio interface and if you are running a software amp on your computer, you'll have the similar signal path as in the real world. For example, I have experience connecting Wah, delay and other pedals this way and it did work. The best is to try out all the possibilities to see what works well with your tone/setup. Other possibility would be to do everything in software, including pedals emulation.
Hajduk
Thank you Bogdan smile.gif Going to experiment a bit today and see what sounds right to me.
jstcrsn