Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Getting In The Zone
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > PRACTICE ROOM
Kizaze44
Quick intro: I've been hacking around for 20 years, self-taught, playing Beatles and Stones songs, blues jams, etc. wanting to learn more. I finally found GMC and I love it. My speed and general fretboard knowledge has really increased rapidly. I've noticed, though, that my phrasing sometimes gets stifled with all this new knowledge. Like I'm thinking too much about "what to play next" with so many more options from what I've learned. It takes me longer to get "in the zone" - (you know, when you rip a sick phrase seemingly out of nowhere and it sounds great). Is this normal? Does this happen to anyone else? Any tips to quickly get to that magical place of not thinking so much?

Any tips are welcome - the talent level here is astounding! Kudos to you all!

-Kiz
Andrew Cockburn
QUOTE (Kizaze44 @ Aug 27 2007, 06:50 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Quick intro: I've been hacking around for 20 years, self-taught, playing Beatles and Stones songs, blues jams, etc. wanting to learn more. I finally found GMC and I love it. My speed and general fretboard knowledge has really increased rapidly. I've noticed, though, that my phrasing sometimes gets stifled with all this new knowledge. Like I'm thinking too much about "what to play next" with so many more options from what I've learned. It takes me longer to get "in the zone" - (you know, when you rip a sick phrase seemingly out of nowhere and it sounds great). Is this normal? Does this happen to anyone else? Any tips to quickly get to that magical place of not thinking so much?

-Kiz

I think it mostly requires practice to integrate the new techniques and riffs into your muscle memory. You've been playing the old ones for years, you don;t even think about them. The newer ones are still at a more conscious level and take away some brain power. More practice and you won't even need to think about it smile.gif
bart m