Starting Takin Apart My Guitar =]
ErosDervishi
Feb 14 2010, 01:43 AM
GMC:er
i wanted to repaint my guitar for a really long while , and i finally decided to do it , i have no experience in doing this type of thing but i feel iv done enough research , i have a question though . im up to the point where i have to sand the guitar . , is it a real neccesity to remove the pickups , iv take off the bridge and all the other hardware but can i jus mask the pickups ? and paint over them ?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
ZakkWylde
Feb 14 2010, 02:12 AM
Learning Tone Master
I don't know what kind of guitar you have but if it has pickup rings it would be better to remove the pickups to get a good finish...

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------

Gear:
- Jackson USA Select KV2 King V with EMG 81/85
- Gibson Les Paul Custom Arctic White with EMG 81/85
- Ibanez Rg 8527 J Custom 7-String with DiMarzio Evolution and Air Norton

- Peavey 6505+ head with Marshall 1960AV 4x12 cab
- Peavey Vypyr 30 Practice Amp
- Dunlop Crybaby From Hell, Maxon OD808, Boss TU-2, MXR CarbonCopy, ISP Decimator, MXR Custom Audio Electronics Booster

+Quote Post
ErosDervishi
Feb 14 2010, 02:40 AM
umm its just sum stock washburn , with ssh pup configuration , what r pickup rings?

+Quote Post
ZakkWylde
Feb 14 2010, 03:07 AM
Learning Tone Master
On some guitars the pickups are mounted directly into the body, others have the pickups mounted in a pickguard and some others have the actual pickup mounted in a little plastic ring that is screwed onto the body (Les Pauls for example).

--------------------

Gear: