Need Some Help With Metal Soloing!
jonathan
Jun 10 2009, 04:33 PM
GMC:er
Hey guys! The drummer in my band just got a double kick pedal so we were jammin' last weekend with some heavy riffs. i went for a solo but it didn't sound anything like metal. I realized that i've got no experience with metal soloing.

I was thinking that maybe you guys had some licks or suggestions that would help me.

Cheers.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 6)
jafomatic
Jun 10 2009, 04:43 PM
If you give a man a lick, he jams for a day. If you teach a man to make his own licks, he jams for a lifetime?

I would maybe suggest three things:

1. Get tabs for any two of your favorite songs that are in the genre you want to learn, then make sure you have a source with which you can listen to those same songs (you own them or can find them streamed somewhere). Listen closely to the rhythms being used and, within the tab, the note intervals and see what the two songs have in common.

2. Check your tone. Do you have enough distortion? How is your EQ set? Which pickup position and type are you using?

3. Listen to even more examples of the genre, include songs from the birth of the genre as well as the current state of the art.

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
::jafomatic

http://jafomatic.net/tunes/ <-- Here lies the master collection of my collaboration and other improvisation recordings.

+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Jun 11 2009, 03:23 PM
Instructor