Introduction, An introduction long over-due
DevilsWolf
Apr 8 2012, 03:44 PM
GMC:er
Hi guys,

My name is Gilian (to avoid confusion, I’m a male), I’m 29 years old and live in the Netherlands. I’ve been a member of GMC on and off for quite some time now. I was hooked after seeing some of Kris’s older (and crazy) vids on youtube hehe. After that I’ve been enjoying a lot of the lessons, Pavel’s, Muris, Liam’s, Ben’s, Piotr and the list goes on hehe, driving me to keep picking up my guitar.

I’ve been playing instruments for a while now. When I was 6 years old I started playing on my brothers organ and not much later got my father to sign me up for keyboard and eventually piano lessons. Did this for about 10 years. Eventually other things came to path and I started playing less and less. At the time I didn’t listen to metal at all until a friend of mine gradually introduced me to metallica. I became a big fan and started learning James his riffs on this old beat up western acoustic guitar which I got for free from my uncle. Eventually I quit playing piano all together and bought my first electric guitar, a Yamaha Pacifica in combination with a Roland amp hehe. I signed up for individual guitar lessons around my 15th birthday.

Since metallica introduced me into metal, I held on to it,almost blind to all other great guitarist out there. My instructor soon opened my eyes and introduced me to other great artists like Satriani. Ever since I was taught the first minor pentatonic box shape, I tuned my concentration mostly towards lead guitar. After a few years my dedication to guitar playing was off and on again. Eventually I quit the lessons and started playing by myself when I felt like it. Sometimes with pauses of months...which took it's toll. Also became a father in between…

The last few years I’ve been listening to bands like Dream Theater and heavier bands like Machine head and Trivium, but whilst learning I’m open to almost everything.