2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Shred Guitar Basics, Questions
sammetal92
Jun 28 2013, 03:18 PM
GMC:er
I just started learning Rock You Like A Hurricane (Scorpions) by ear, and I can play the intro solo, but still working on the main solo.

So here are my questions:

1. Would you recommend that song for starting out on shred?

2. Is learning shred guitar by learning songs a good way of getting right into it?

3. Does it help your overall techniques when you learn a song?

4. Would it help in learning other shred songs quickly? For example, I learn a lick in the song and I can play it upto speed and the lick involves fast alternate picking only. If I picked up another song to learn and another lick that only involves fast alternate picking comes before me, would I be able to learn it faster than I learned the last lick like it? And over time, will I keep getting faster and faster in learning licks that involve alternate picking only?

5. After being able to play the whole of Rock you like a hurricane upto speed, what level of difficulty would you recommend for me for shred lessons on GMC?

6. What other songs would you recommend for people who are getting into shred territory that aren't too hard?

7. (if you play shred) what was the first shred song you ever learned on guitar?

Sorry, I know these are a lot of questions but as everyone knows, I ask around a lot smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------

Download my free guitar and Floyd Rose setup guide: http://www.samsguitars.tk/
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
korblitz
Jun 28 2013, 08:19 PM
Learning Apprentice Player
1. Yes, why not?

2. Hell yeah! Nothing beats learning a new technique and applying it on the guitar.

3. I hope it does.