My Brain Collapses When I Look At This
Murloc
May 31 2009, 02:19 AM
Learning Roadie
Hey guys

I got a friend that plays the intro of "one last breath" (by Creed) all the time and thinks he is so much better than me. I wanna show that jerk by learning the song. It all goes well until 3h5p3p2h3 pops up and I am like huh?! The main problem I think is that I dont fully understand how to do a pull-off (Do I have to mention that I am a beginner?). All you high and mighty guitar guys can laugh as much as you want!

Edited for language by MickeM on behalf of the moderating team

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

This post has been edited by MickeM: May 31 2009, 10:23 AM
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 5)
DeepRoots
May 31 2009, 02:38 AM
Get to da Chopper!
No need for laughs, we were all beginners at some point. In fact, i didn't do pull-offs correctly for aaaaages.

This kind of lick will eventually be a kind of reflex for you if you practise it for a while- its quite a common little pattern.

Use the index finger for the 2, middle finger for the 3 and your pinky for the 5 (thats fingers 1 2 and 4 if you like to look at it that way).

Start with your fingers in that position^^, while fretting with your middle finger- pick your first note then make the next note sound with your pinky without picking. (this wont take too much finger pressure to sound accurately, especially if you keep your left hand in a "good" legato playing position*). Next, to get from the 5 to the 3 you need to "pull off" the note to sound the pre-fretted 3**. The pull off is not just the opposite of a hammer on, simply lifting it up wont make the 3 sound well enough- when releasing the 5 give it a slight pull towards the ground before releasing (this will make the 3 sound much better).