Remove The Floyd Rose To A Fixed Bidge With Tremolo ?
Keilnoth
Sep 25 2009, 10:08 AM
Learning Apprentice Player
Hey guys,

I own an Ibanez RG270 with Floyd Rose, tremolo, floating bridge, etc.... When I bought it, I thought that would be cool because I won't need to retune my guitar every few hours of playing.

But now, I don't really like it because I cannot drop to Eb or D easily, it takes me 10 minutes to tune my guitar and when I use the tremolo (which I like) I have some tuning issues because the bridge don't go back to its initial position.

So, I thought I could buy a new axe with a fixed bridge. But that's a pretty expensive solution for sure. I am still a beginner and not sure I should spend that much money in new stuff (even though I would love to buy new stuff but I am resisting the temptation wink.gif).

Has one of you already removed a floyd rose from a guitar ? Is it possible to change the whole bridge and replace it with a fixed one ? Or will that be as expensive as buying a new guitar ?

I have read a lot about blocking the bridge which could solve at least one of my problems. So what if I block the tremolo so it can only be pulled out and then I unscrew the floyd rose near the neck. Will that works ?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------

My Guitars: Fender Stratocaster Billy Corgan Signature, Ibanez RG270
My Amp: Peavey Bandit 112
My Pedals: Blackstar HT-Dual, Boss DD-7, Boss CS-3, Boss RC-20
My Wishlist: New bridge + Pickups for my Ibanez, EHX POG2, EHX Cathedral / Holy Grail
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
DeepRoots
Sep 25 2009, 10:23 AM
Get to da Chopper!
Have you checked out the tremel-no? I think it could solve most of your problems and isn't too drastic
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xiZnipHc1ec
http://www.tremol-no.com/