Playing With People You Don't Really Know, And Rythm Playing, I need some advices :)
Fsgdjv
May 30 2007, 08:44 PM
GMC:er
I've only played the guitar for 8 months, but I've already improved a lot, partially because of GMC, and mainly because of the great device called the metronome. Since I'm a member here at GMC I have access to great solo guitar lessons, and I really feel like I have improved in that department.

However! My rythm playing sucks, I know all basic open cords, all basic bar cords based on the E and A-strings, but I still don't feel confident i rythm playing. I play in a band, and there I'm fine because we've only played a bunch of easy metal covers (like for instance masters apprentices with opeth), and that means - power cords, wohoo! laugh.gif Anyways, last week I started practicing with a school band to play a few songs and, well.. I feel like crap there, it feels like I just started playing last week or something when I play with them. And well, it's based on all those cords I know well, and some dimsus4add52 (I know that doesn't make any sense, but you get what I mean tongue.gif ) Anyways, I get nervous and mess up, and then I even mess up on the easy stuff like changing from an E major to a F7 or whatever. So basically, do you know how I can get better at just general rythm guitar, and that basic stuff that everybody should know, or something like that? (like the fact that I don't know how to fingerpick makes me look horribly bad compared to the other guitar player, and now everybody are asking me especially efter everything if everything is ok and so on - wich is really nice of them, but makes me feel even worse, and play even worse, etc)