Beginner Theory, Trying to figure out what scales work for song...
USMarty
Nov 14 2012, 08:01 PM
GMC:er
Hey guys,

I am extremely new to theory and I've been trying to figure out how to determine what mode to use for chord progressions. Now, I know this is a HUGE topic and we can really get deep so I want to make it a little more specific.

Let's take the song "Hurt" - Johnny Cash version ( Don't worry I'm not out to bastardize the song, I'm just trying to apply theory to a specific instance)

Basic chord progression is Am, C, D, Am. Now if we wanted to create a little solo there I'm wondering what appropriate scales to use would be.

I've broken down the chords and put together that the Key is in G. (At least I hope I got that right...)

Basic understanding tells me an A minor pentatonic would fit. Is it also safe to assume staying in the G major scale works as well?

Secondly, what modes, and more importantly why, would fit in there? And would we change up the modes to match within the progression itself?

Thanks in advance.
-Matt

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 3)
Qenzoz
Nov 14 2012, 09:49 PM
GMC:er
A Minor Pentatonic would fit & A Dorian would also fit.

And yes the Ionian mode / Major key would be G - A Dorian second mode in the G Major scale smile.gif

Cheers!

Tobias

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
Guitar
Suhr S4 Pro Series Bengal Burst

+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
Nov 15 2012, 03:49 PM
Instructor