Muting Question, trouble on 3rd fret - A & D strings
Hyunkell
Dec 24 2008, 02:16 AM
GMC:er
Hello GMC,

I've been playing the guitar for about 3 months now (had to take quite a long break due to school), so I'm quite a beginner smile.gif
I finally felt confident that I could take a try at the following lesson:

https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/ls/in-the...-black-sabbath/

I ran into quite a problem though, which I can't seem to figure out on my own.
When moving my finger from the A string to the D string on 3rd fret (or the other way around), I get a very high pitched screamy sound when releasing the first string, just as if I would have played a natural harmonic.

CODE
-------------                                          -------------
----------3--     sounds like                          ----------3--
--3----------                                          --3------30-- (or something like that)

For some reason I only encountered this problem on 3rd fret on the A and D string.
Since I'm a beginner, and I'm mostly trying to teach myself (with the help of the lessons here at GMC of course), is it possible that something is wrong with my technique?
Am I somehow supposed to mute the strings in a special way in this specific area?

Thanks! smile.gif
Hyu

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

This post has been edited by Hyunkell: Dec 24 2008, 02:17 AM
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
UncleSkillet
Dec 24 2008, 02:26 AM
Learning Tone Seeker
Hmm? Very strange that it only happens on the 3rd fret. Can you post a video and maybe we could help more.

There is no special way to fret the 3rd one but learning to mute unwanted noise is something you will need to pay really close attention to as a beginner. If you play the lick really slow do you still hear the noise?