2 Pages V   1 2 >  
9 10 Or 11 Gauge?, what do you use/recommend? and what brand?
dimeisgod
Jun 29 2007, 02:06 PM
GMC:er
what gauge strings and what brand do you guys use? is there one perfect set of strings?
i'm using ernie ball 10 gauge regular slinky strings..

if it aint broke than why fix it? but i want to change a brand.. never played another brand in my life maybe im missing out on something....

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Robin
Jun 29 2007, 02:38 PM
I used 0.9 for a loooooooooooong time, several years. Just recently I've tried .10 and .11. I felt a little different beetween 0.9 and the others. I liked 0.10 best, think I'm staying with those. I personally couldnt notice any change in sound though, I'm no expert so I dunno.

I'm using Elixir btw, never used anything else. I'd like to try something new too, if it actually does improve the sound or durability.

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

+Quote Post
EddieB
Jun 29 2007, 04:08 PM
I use D'addario Super light +'s (.95) =P

I used to use the really cheap super strings (strings were probably worth less than the packaging they came in) and there is a really big difference in quality. I've only been using my D'addario's about two weeks now, but they haven't varnish, changed color, or rusted in any way yet. They are really bright and really easy to bend (which is a good thing cool.gif )

But I guess it's really a matter of preference on the size. I got the +'s because I don't like thick strings, but super lights just seem a little fragile to me.

Just as long as you don't go with any of the cheapo brands you should be fine smile.gif