Combo Amp Vs Amp Head + Cabinet, Which One Is Better?, EVH 5150 III
kklee100
Feb 7 2013, 05:46 AM
Learning Rock Star
Months ago, I post a thread about EVH 5150 III 50W or 100W amp head.
Everyone said it is a good amp for metal.
So I decided I will buy EVH 5150 III 50W amp head + 2x12 cabinet in the future.

But at NAMM 2013, I notice EVH 5150 III combo amp (50W head + 2x12 speaker) released.
I have no experience in any tube amp.
I do not know what is the difference between them.
Can anyone tell me which one is better? Thanx!!

Attached Image Attached Image

ps. there is reverb knob in combo amp but no reverb knob in 50W amp head.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
MHD Pickups
Feb 7 2013, 06:26 AM
GMC:er
I had a JMD 102 combo which i loved. To me it was far better than he head and cab.
Easier to move and when I did run a bottom cab then there were 6 instead of 4. Just my opinion.

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
http://mhd-pickups.com/

https://www.facebook.com/mhd.pickups

DC DOES NOT EQUAL OUTPUT. Dc is a resistance value and that is all. It WILL NOT tell you what it will sound like, it WILL NOT make you sound like another player.

+Quote Post
klasaine
Feb 7 2013, 08:39 AM
The 'benefit' of a head and separate cab is that -
1) you can choose different cabs for different applications,