Jamming With The Band, Smoke on the Water
-Zion-
Nov 7 2008, 01:52 PM
Learning Roadie
Just want to share an experience with you..

Tuesdays are usually the day where i team up with my band mates and we practice our so-called "setlist".. Actually we dont have one yet, but we are getting closer.. smile.gif

So i spent all monday evening building my very own distortion pedal.. I bought one of those clone kits, and built it myself, and it worked right away.. anyways.. more on the pedal in another thread soon..

I was anxious to test out the new distortion and we were just informed that our bass player was running very late, so instead of just sitting and looking at eachother, i decided to test my new equipment.. and what better way to test it than some good ol' powerchords.. i fiddled around a bit and all of a sudden i started playing "Smoke on the Water"..

The other guitarist yelled up saying.. "WAAAAAIT!!!", and out comes this book with all the songs he has collected through the years.. "i need the lyrics, and i need a bass"..

What happened then was.. how do i describe this properly?!.. Magic, i guess.. I started out with a kind of homemade intro, going very slowly into the riff.. the drums were then added and finally the bass made it complete..

We ended up doing the whole song.. adding a whole lot of improvised soloing.. and a nice nice ending.. it was so much fun that we did the song 4 times in a row.. each time adding more sexy stuff and longer solos.. it was AWESOME..

After doing the song 4 times spending the better part of an hour, our bassplayer arrived.. We returned to our original schedule, but decided to finish our rehearsels by playing smoke 2 times..

AWESOME.. I can highly recommend this.. this song has now been added to our setlist.. smile.gif

-----

Now would be a good time to ask you guys if you have had a similar experience and if so, what song were you playing?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net