Applied Music Theory Workout, for every level!
Gabriel Leopardi
Jan 6 2016, 04:13 PM
Instructor
Hello everybody! Welcome to this new thread in which we will work on applying music theory in real music situations. The assignments will be designed to let every guitarist at every level be able to make music over the backing tracks submitted.

Who can join?

Every GMCer can join, from absolute beginner to advanced. You can make all the necessary questions to understand each detail behind the assignments.

When?

At every moment. If you are finding this thread and the course is advanced you can join right now, the assignments are always complete by themselves to make music over the backings.

What to do?

Check the instructions given at each assignment, download the backing track and start jamming. You will find a Jamtrack that is for your diary practice and there is a Backing Track that is the one you can use to record yourself and share your recording here to receive feedback.

About deadlines and How to work on each task?

I'll give long deadlines for this assignments because I want you to take all the time needed to experiment with each task and incorporate the concepts. Please don't work on the whole assignment by once. Dedicate time, hours, days to each task if the concepts are totally new for you.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ASSIGNMENT I: Jamming over a backing track in A major key.

- Backing Track and Progression:

In this first assignment you'll find a backing track in A major with the following progression:

| A | A | F#m | F#m |

Download and listen to the backing: Attached File  Backing_track_in_A_Major___70_bpm.mp3 ( 1.18MB ) Number of downloads: 255

Do you want to know how to play those chords? Check out this GP file: Attached File  Backing_track_Progression.gp5 ( 2.01K ) Number of downloads: 194

TASK 1: A Major Chord: