Dokkodo - Musashi's 21 Rules Of Living According To The Way
Cosmin Lupu
Oct 17 2012, 08:37 AM
Instructor
As some of you may know, this Summer, I have begun my apprenticeship in the great Miyamoto Musashi's, Hyoho Niten Ichi Ryu school of swordsmanship, where I am studying Ken Jutsu and trying to develop myself spiritually and mentally.

This extraordinary man has written a set of 21 rules which he considered of utmost importance so that one can follow The Way, as he called it along his/ her life. Here they are below, so you can read them. It's really strange to read and think about how many of them we break everyday, just because of our habits and they way we are used to live our lives. It's most definitely a challenge to try and live by these rules, even though some of them, have deeper meanings than just the words they are made up of, as all of Musashi's writings have. For instance, it is said that you must constantly re-read his famous book - The 'Gorin No Sho' so that each time if you evolve through practice, as a human being, you will discover another meaning to his words each time. Fascinating, ain't it?

Miyamoto Musashi's Dokkodo.

- The Way Of Walking Alone -

1. Accept everything just the way it is.
2. Do not seek pleasure for its own sake.
3. Do not, under any circumstances, depend on a partial feeling.
4. Think lightly of yourself and deeply of the world.
5. Be detached from desire your whole life long.
6. Do not regret what you have done.
7. Never be jealous.
8. Never let yourself be saddened by a separation.
9. Resentment and complaint are appropriate neither for oneself or others.
10. Do not let yourself be guided by the feeling of lust or love.
11. In all things have no preferences.
12. Be indifferent to where you live.
13. Do not pursue the taste of good food.
14. Do not hold on to possessions you no longer need.
15. Do not act following customary beliefs.
16. Do not collect weapons or practice with weapons beyond what is useful.