Been Damaged By To Many Tabs?, Need help restarting my training
Wilska
Jun 10 2009, 11:12 PM
GMC:er
I had an irritating revelation today. Tabs have ruined my guitar playing. I started playing with tabs and then kept playing to them (guitarpro) because it was easy to retune songs so I could play along. My skills have developed and also my ear, I can learn songs by ear (tho not as easy or fast as I would like). But now I wonder if anyone has any pointers/tips on where to basicly start over. Should I just start playing to songs "for real" and try to learn more songs by ear? I need a way to develop my confidence in my playing. I can play some very hard stuff but I sometimes get stuck when I try to improvise or come up with own ideas. I know some theory but not enough I think.

What would you guys say are the most important areas to develop a good basic tone, feel and creativity?
I can play some fast things, but I have played with other people and been like "man, that guy can strum the most wicked, evil G chord i've ever heard. And he does the same things as me!"

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
------ Wilska's Gear ------

Guitars: Gibson Flying V Faded '67, ESP Ltd Alexi 600, Jackson Kelly KE3
Pickups: SD Blackout, Emg 81/85
Amp: Krank Rev Jr Pro
Effects: Ibanez Weeping Demon Wah, Digitech Hardwire CM-2, Digitech Hardwire DL-8, MXR Phase 90
Recording: Blackstar HT-DistX, Line6 Pod X3 Live
Pick: Dunlop Jazz III XL black, Dunlop Ultex Sharp 1.14 and 1.40
Strings: GHS Boomers 10-52, Rotosound 10-46
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Dexxter
Jun 10 2009, 11:22 PM
Learning Tone Guru