2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Semi-newb With Cash To Burn, $4000
Chief Brody
Apr 9 2008, 07:39 AM
GMC:er
Yes indeed, yet another "help me decide what to buy" topic!

I hope you more knowledgeable folks will help me out.

Anyhoo, i've got $4000 to burn and primarily i'm interested in putting that towards a new guitar but i'm also willing to throw some of that money towards amp/effects if required.

I'll try to be as informative as possible as to what direction leaning towards. I'm here for guidance and ideas as i understand that ultimately i'm going to need to go out and get a feel for any potential buys first hand (all i lack is direction! unsure.gif ).

I started playing only a few months ago but thanks to GMC and a pretty rigid scehdule i'm progressing nicely. Unfortunately i'm not completely happy with the guitar i have. I was vastly inexperienced and relied on one of the store guys in aiding my purchase and for the price range i was looking for he pointed me in the direction of a Fender Jaguar.

Now i like the guitar don't get me wrong, but i feel i was misguided as i find it to be (IMO) not very newbie friendly as it's rather fiddly. I like playing it but it feels more like an interesting piece for the occassional play and not really what i want in my "primary" guitar.

So after a bit of saving, i'm ready to splash some more cash and set things right.

Here's the situation:

Music style(s) i like and want to play

I'm interested primarily in All forms of Rock, Blues and a little bit of Funk. I'm into metal too but nothing too extreme, just the standard stuff - which is to say shredding isn't really a style i'm going to play and i'm not going to be doing any neoclassical craziness (although i am interested in using exercises/techniques from that genre to improve my overall playing ability).

I'd ideally like a guitar that would be able to handle anything from Tool to John Mayer and everything inbetween, if possible.

Guitars