3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
What Inspired You To Start Playing Guitar?
Bear Rose
Sep 23 2010, 10:17 PM
Beginner Instructor
I'm interested to see what was the reason or inspiration of why everyone here started playing guitar. Here's what started me:

In 7th grade I changed schools, and so I had to make friends with a whole new group of people. Well, the ones that I started hanging out with were all guitar players and all they ever talked about was playing guitar. So, I wanted to fit in as well, so the summer after my 7th grade year I started taking lessons. So, really the reason I started playing guitar was because "all my friends were doing it".

After I started getting into it though, I noticed that I absolutely loved the way certain guitar solos sounded. The solo for "No Rain" by Blind Melon, and the guitar parts in "Yellow Ledbetter" by Pearl Jam, and numerous Slash solos really stirred my emotions. Something about the sound of them just spoke to me and I wanted to play like that. I later discovered that the sound that I loved was the sound of a major scale guitar solo. Most rock, blues, and metal players use the minor and minor pentatonic, but the major scale is so beautiful to me and that is easily what I play the best solos in!

So what was it that caused you to decide to start playing guitar?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
ZakkWylde
Sep 23 2010, 10:38 PM
Learning Tone Master
I wanted to play guitar by the age of ~14 because I liked the sound of the instrument but I didn't start because I did not want to learn theory and notes. 3 Years later I found out that there are tabs -.-

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!