Confidence In Your Abilities?, WTH does it come from?
Sabbz
Jan 7 2008, 09:52 PM
GMC:er
Here's my biggest problem: Lack of confidence when playing

I've been playing off and on for 20+ years. Back when I was a kid, confidence wasn't an issue. I never played lead and as a benefit, I drank a lot of booze and everyone knows after a few shots of -Insert choice cocktail or alcoholic beverage here- you feel 10 ft tall and bulletproof, so the confidence was never lacking. Well, I guess it wasn't so much confidence as it was simply not giving a sh**. laugh.gif Then, I quit playing for a fairly long time and along the way, I did a little bit of growing up and as such, I don't drink that much anymore.

Now, when I first started playing somewhat seriously again, I noticed that whenever I attempted to play in front of anyone else, especially another guitarist or musician, I'm a nervous friggin' wreck. But, the real kick in the nards is, I have no reason to be nervous. I'm not a bad guitarist, in fact, I'm a lot better than I really thought after checking out the lessons here, I just really needed to concentrate on a few techniques and learn some new licks. Everyone I know tells me that I'm a very good guitarist, but I still feel very intimidated and kind of vulnerable when I play in front of people. Is there any way to get over this? Outside of drinking a pint of 100 proof Southern Comfort? laugh.gif

It really is a pain in the a** and it really hurts me when auditioning or just jamming with friends. I'd really, REALLY like to get over this.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
Gear I wish I still owned:
Schecter C-S1 Elite
Ovation CC48
Peavey 6505+ HS
Dunlop DB01 Crybaby From Hell
MXR KFK 10 Band EQ
EHX Holy Grail + Stereo Memory Man
MXR Smart Gate
Go to the top of the page