How To Identify Modes Easily, confused about it all
MyNinjaWay
Jul 25 2008, 05:24 PM
GMC:er
Hi all,

basically... I'm new to this whole theory thing... and I see lots of differences in the way instructors have their scales represented on their lessons.
for instance some have a box type diagram which is reasonably simple and others have nearly like a full fretboard of notes and it looks so confusing like how can you ever make a scale out of all that... (do I just play any of the notes from the ones shown?) back to the main topic...I notice the root notes scattered throughout, but they're really for keys ha? not to I.D. if its a phrygian or a lydian or a something else...
so... my question is... what are the identifying features of the modes which make them stand out from one another...

lol, hope this isn't a really dumb question and I hope someone out there understands my rambling...
thanks for reading... hope you's can help

-tom

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Nighthawk1
Jul 25 2008, 05:30 PM
QUOTE (MyNinjaWay @ Jul 25 2008, 06:24 PM) *
Hi all,

basically... I'm new to this whole theory thing... and I see lots of differences in the way instructors have their scales represented on their lessons.
for instance some have a box type diagram which is reasonably simple and others have nearly like a full fretboard of notes and it looks so confusing like how can you ever make a scale out of all that... (do I just play any of the notes from the ones shown?) back to the main topic...I notice the root notes scattered throughout, but they're really for keys ha? not to I.D. if its a phrygian or a lydian or a something else...
so... my question is... what are the identifying features of the modes which make them stand out from one another...