Frustration - Need Help Please
petar64
Apr 30 2008, 11:33 PM
GMC:er
Hi to all GMCer,

im very frustrated at the moment and i need your help.

I started playing guitar a few years ago. It started with a accustic guitar and some fingerpicking. Two years ago i bought a gibson les paul studio with seymour duncan pickups. My amp is an vox ad30vt.
I didnt play constantly and with a system - just when i had the time and the mood for it. I never had a teacher and i learned everything i know from books.

A few months ago i decided to beginn learning seriously (thats why im here :-)) and i bought a effectpedal, the marshall distortion pedal guvnour because i like this oldscool southernrock sound and want to concentrate on some rock.

Well, i thought, that my playing is not so bad. After playing with the pedal i know better.
It is very bad!!!

Now i realise, that the problem is not in playing chords, rhytm, scales or simple solos.
The problem is to play it clean. In other words - my problem is the muting.

Im not able to keep the notplayed strings quiet.
I fail with everything i try. I know that it takes time to get the perfect technique - but how?
Its fine when i play powerchords. But when i play some appregios on the e, a and d string or when i play solos i cant keep the higher strings quiet. Specially the high e string. For example: when i play joes lesson muted appregios i always have some noise from the hight e string. sad.gif
I try to mute the strings with the palm of my right hand but when playing the e, a and d string i heighten the palm just enough that the high e string is not muted anymore.

Please, please, can you tell me: How do you mute?
Please give me some instructions. I searched all the lessons but i couldnt find a lesson where its explained how to mute. Maybe an Instructor can make a lesson about muting. But with explanation and not just playing.

Thank you

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net