Absolute Beginners Guitar Guide
Bogdan Radovic
Sep 21 2015, 07:01 PM
Bass & Beginner Instructor
Absolute Beginners Guitar Guide

Hey GMCers!

I’m starting this guide to help beginners out there get started with the guitar as smooth as possible. What motivates me is the fact that I had absolutely no help when I was starting out. It took me a really long time to get started as I was discovering things for myself using materials available at the time. At one point, I have even briefly quit guitar just because I didn't know how to properly tune it.

My first ever band rehearsal with a high school band playing covers.

Taking the first steps & getting ready

I’ll imagine that you just got your first guitar and that you know nothing about it. First thing you need to do before playing the guitar is to tune the strings to correct notes. Check out this lesson to learn how to tune the guitar: How To Tune A Guitar

Once your guitar is in tune, I’d suggest getting familiar with it and its features. Casually watch the videos in this lesson to learn how to hold the guitar and how to adjust the tone settings to get ready to play : Holding The Guitar & Basic Tone Settings. Use this lesson to learn the names of the notes and where to find them on the guitar neck (don't worry, you don't need to remember them all): Notes on the guitar

At this point, I think you should learn how to read the guitar tablature. You can do it by watching this lesson: How To Read Guitar Tabs