New Amp - Mesa/boogie 1987 Mark Iii (red Stripe)
Zephyr
May 15 2008, 02:23 AM
GMC:er
I finally got myself a tube amp! And not just any, but a vintage, and a Mesa! Interesting fact, it's a Mark III head originally, but the guy put it in a Mark I combo cab. I'm ecstatic about it, and I got it for $1000 (which unfortunately means I doubt I'll be getting more gear for a while). I had a few questions about it however, really just generic "tube newb" questions probably. laugh.gif I have no experience with tube amps, and I've been trying to learn about them.

Anyways, the amp is, as I said, from 1987. And the tubes have never been changed. I know that tubes supposedly should be changed every 8 to 12 months, but apparently this guy never saw reason to, or something. I read that there are some warning signs about tubes, such as a glowing red plate (?), but I saw nothing like that. So, the amp sounds good as it is, I mean, nothing's blowing up, crackling, etc. But I'm still worried about it.

First of all - I was wondering just how huge of an impact changing the tubes could have? It has 4 power tubes, 2 6L6's and 2 EL-34's, and you can switch between having just the EL-34's or all 4 on. It also has 6 preamp tubes. I don't hear as much about changing preamp tubes, but I figure that they're pretty old, and changing them should help. However, with each pair of power tubes running for about $40, and the preamp tubes being about $20 a pop, changing all of them would get pricey, fast. And I'm pretty much broke. So, I'd be willing to buy something that would have a momumental impact, but otherwise, I'll have to save up for a while. So, what would you all recommend?

Also, Boogie recommends the 6L6's and EL34's, and I hear about them often, but I, once again, know nothing about tubes. Could someone tell me how different tubes affect your sound, and maybe give me some alternatives?