Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Floating Bridge - Tuning.
MichaelRdk
post Dec 25 2018, 07:40 PM
Post #1


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 9-September 12
From: Denmark
Member No.: 16.614



Hi.
I've recently bought the Ibanez Jem JR, which has a floating bridge, i absolutely love the guitar, but it's my first guitar with this kind of system on, and i'm having some issues regarding tuning.

I do not understand how to tune it, or i thought i did, but it aint working.

So i've put on new strings since the ones it came with broke, i followed a youtube video and changed 1 string at a time to avoid the bridge to "fall down". It all went smooth, and i'm at the tuning part.

I know the strings goes out of tune as they stretch when they are new, i've changed on my stratocaster a trizillion times, but my issue is that whenever i go about tuning the strings, i go string 4-3-5-2-6-1, but whenever i come back to around, it sits flat again, but the bridge raised slightly, so to me it seems that when you tune it up, you just raise the bridge and you just go around in a circle, getting the bridge sitting higher and higher.

Am i doing something wrong ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Dec 25 2018, 08:04 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 3.937
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



To be sure;

-remove old low-e string
-add new low-e string and tune
-remove old a string
-ad new a string and tune
-then tune Low-e again and a again
-remove D string...

is this what you didn't do?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Dec 25 2018, 10:22 PM
Post #3


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6.053
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



I find getting them roughly in tune with the headstock tuners first and the fine tuners on the trem set to the middle, then I tune, where 1 is the high E, 1,2,1,2,3,1,2,3,4,1,2,3,4,5,1,2,3,4,5,6

This works best for me, you'll find a way if you keep going. The first time I tuned a Floyd the bridge was up at about 45 degrees when I looked at it then the high E snapped. It's a learning curve for sure.



This post has been edited by Phil66: Jan 20 2019, 11:23 AM


--------------------

SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MichaelRdk
post Dec 26 2018, 08:49 AM
Post #4


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 9-September 12
From: Denmark
Member No.: 16.614



Yea i didn't do it like that.

-Remove low E string
-Add new low E string
-Roughly tune it up to somewhat tuning by ear
-Then repeat until all strings are on
-Then i start tuning 3-4-2-5-1-6 and repeat, and this is where i end up just raising the bridge cause the strings goes flat when i come around to the first one again.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Dec 26 2018, 09:49 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 3.937
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (MichaelRdk @ Dec 26 2018, 07:49 AM) *
...


I've always gone from low to high, never tried that mixed order so maybe thats why you've had a problem.

Yes its about rising the bridge to where it was slowly. It gets more complicated if you change string thickness (bridge angle will need re-balancing) so make sure to avoid that for now till you get comfortable.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AK Rich
post Dec 26 2018, 09:05 PM
Post #6


Learning Guitar Hero
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.913
Joined: 10-September 11
From: Big Lake, Alaska
Member No.: 13.839



If the bridge was setup correctly to begin with where it is flat and parallel to the body and you are changing to strings that are of the same gauge as the ones you are replacing. Blocking the bridge with a shim on the inside of the trem cavity between the trem block and the body, or on top of the guitar between the back of the trem and the body so that it stays in place while you change the strings is what I like to do.
That way I can take all the strings off at once and clean and oil the fretboard before putting on new strings. It will also save you a lot of time tuning and re tuning.
Set your fine tuners about halfway or less so you have plenty of room to tune up after you lock the nut. Also, stretch the hell out of every string as you put it on and tune it with the tuning keys before you lock the nut.
I usually like to shim on the inside of the trem cavity with a shim that I make out of cedar shim stock so that the trem is locked in just about the exact position it is going to be in once the new strings are installed and the guitar is in tune.
You can also buy a trem block that mounts on the inside of the trem cavity which allows you to lock the trem in place.
If you are changing string gauge or the trem is not set up flat with the body to begin with, you will need to adjust the spring tension of the trem by adjusting the screws of the anchor claw on the inside of the trem cavity.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HsOTfUvRY3o

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QEyg_sEACdE

This post has been edited by AK Rich: Dec 27 2018, 08:10 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
whammysam
post Jan 19 2019, 11:26 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 15-January 08
Member No.: 3.832



QUOTE (AK Rich @ Dec 26 2018, 09:05 PM) *
If the bridge was setup correctly to begin with where it is flat and parallel to the body and you are changing to strings that are of the same gauge as the ones you are replacing. Blocking the bridge with a shim on the inside of the trem cavity between the trem block and the body, or on top of the guitar between the back of the trem and the body so that it stays in place while you change the strings is what I like to do.
That way I can take all the strings off at once and clean and oil the fretboard before putting on new strings. It will also save you a lot of time tuning and re tuning.
Set your fine tuners about halfway or less so you have plenty of room to tune up after you lock the nut. Also, stretch the hell out of every string as you put it on and tune it with the tuning keys before you lock the nut.
I usually like to shim on the inside of the trem cavity with a shim that I make out of cedar shim stock so that the trem is locked in just about the exact position it is going to be in once the new strings are installed and the guitar is in tune.
You can also buy a trem block that mounts on the inside of the trem cavity which allows you to lock the trem in place.
If you are changing string gauge or the trem is not set up flat with the body to begin with, you will need to adjust the spring tension of the trem by adjusting the screws of the anchor claw on the inside of the trem cavity.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HsOTfUvRY3o

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QEyg_sEACdE



Sorry for the late post, I never look into forums but saw this and thought id post up. When you buy an ibanez with a floating bridge it normally (or in my case anyway) says "use only D'dario XL strings") Thinking this was probably just nonsense I tried to fit my usual Ernike ball Strings. I was faced with the same problem of the strings constantly dropping out of tune and the bridge raising in the air. Took them off and tried D'dario xl's and no such problem afterwards. Concluded that some strings have too much elasticity maybe. No such problems since and that was years ago. Ibanez floaters (edge pro as I re,ember) are second to none in my opinion. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AK Rich
post Jan 20 2019, 08:00 PM
Post #8


Learning Guitar Hero
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.913
Joined: 10-September 11
From: Big Lake, Alaska
Member No.: 13.839



QUOTE (whammysam @ Jan 19 2019, 02:26 PM) *
Sorry for the late post, I never look into forums but saw this and thought id post up. When you buy an ibanez with a floating bridge it normally (or in my case anyway) says "use only D'dario XL strings") Thinking this was probably just nonsense I tried to fit my usual Ernike ball Strings. I was faced with the same problem of the strings constantly dropping out of tune and the bridge raising in the air. Took them off and tried D'dario xl's and no such problem afterwards. Concluded that some strings have too much elasticity maybe. No such problems since and that was years ago. Ibanez floaters (edge pro as I re,ember) are second to none in my opinion. smile.gif

Ibanez says only use D'addario strings? That's the first I have heard of it. I have an S-470 with a ZR trem , a Prestige with the Edge Pro and an 80's era Kramer with an original Floyd Rose and I use Ernie Ball strings (Super Slinkys) on all of them with no issues.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Jan 20 2019, 08:48 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 3.937
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Even if one replaces with the same thickness, every brands strings have different materials which will affect the trem. angle and intonation. So its only a matter of adjustment when skipping string brands or thickness.

But just adding extra info, ibanez neck do like 0.9's more than 10's. I have used 10's with mine for years, but noticed the natural angle of neck is better with 9's if one wishes for the strings to be as low as possible. But to note, its a very small difference.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
whammysam
post Jan 20 2019, 10:06 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 15-January 08
Member No.: 3.832



QUOTE (AK Rich @ Jan 20 2019, 08:00 PM) *
Ibanez says only use D'addario strings? That's the first I have heard of it. I have an S-470 with a ZR trem , a Prestige with the Edge Pro and an 80's era Kramer with an original Floyd Rose and I use Ernie Ball strings (Super Slinkys) on all of them with no issues.



"Ibanez says only use D'addario strings? " Hi buddy, well Ive only ever bought one ibanez guitar, it was an RG something or other bought from THOMAN>DE some years ago now. And there was certainly a label on it saying 'use only D'dario XL strings'. Thinking this was a sponsor of some kind I took no notice.. But my regular erni balls (red and white packet) wouldnt work for the reasons stated, but sure enough the XL's where fine. Im sure there are other strings that will work too, just I wouldnt know wich ones. All the best. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Jan 20 2019, 10:51 PM
Post #11


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.324
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



Never seen such a label on any new Ibanez I have owned. And I have used a lot of different strings on floating trems on Ibanez - Even Fender strings without a problem on my Ibanez! Never had a problem after a set up smile.gif

This post has been edited by Caelumamittendum: Jan 20 2019, 10:51 PM


--------------------
For some prog metal made by yours truly, check out:

[soundcloud]https://soundcloud.com/benjamin-storm-linnebjerg/storm-linnebjerg-a-celestial-voyage-full-demo[/soundcloud]

And subscribe to my Youtube Channel and Instagram here! and here!
...and my Twitch:HERE!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
whammysam
post Jan 20 2019, 11:31 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 15-January 08
Member No.: 3.832



QUOTE (Caelumamittendum @ Jan 20 2019, 10:51 PM) *
Never seen such a label on any new Ibanez I have owned. And I have used a lot of different strings on floating trems on Ibanez - Even Fender strings without a problem on my Ibanez! Never had a problem after a set up smile.gif



Good to hear you've had no problem with your bridges guys.. But think constructively please. I was trying to help the one person that posted here with their bridge problem.. And was not wishing to hear from the millions that havent. laugh.gif (and especially as Ive experienced that particular problem myself) Times have changed so much since I first joined.. Back then it was all about guitar players trying to help and encourage oneanother.. Now it just seems that the internet trolls have found their way to every inch, here and everywhere.. No escaping them now. sad.gif
I shant post in pubic again... Troll away my fine trolls! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Jan 21 2019, 11:27 AM
Post #13


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 3.937
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



There is no trolling, likely the guitar was setup-ed with D'addario from factory and its very normal a different brand of strings needing a setup. Thats why friends simply "added" to your comments that one is free to use whatever strings they want.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Jan 21 2019, 07:52 PM
Post #14


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.324
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



I've been searching a bit online, and while some Ibanez do come with D'addario strings, some come with Elixir and some with other brands. That said, I have searched to find a picture of such a label or even a similar text, but I just cannot find it. I'm not saying it isn't true though, just that I'm curious, hence the search.

That said, I was not trolling. I was trying to be constructive - all strings have worked for me with a proper set up. Even putting an 8 string set on my 7 string without the high E has worked after a set up. By all means, while I like D'addarios, I don't think they are the only strings that will work - regardless of the label smile.gif


--------------------
For some prog metal made by yours truly, check out:

[soundcloud]https://soundcloud.com/benjamin-storm-linnebjerg/storm-linnebjerg-a-celestial-voyage-full-demo[/soundcloud]

And subscribe to my Youtube Channel and Instagram here! and here!
...and my Twitch:HERE!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AK Rich
post Jan 21 2019, 09:37 PM
Post #15


Learning Guitar Hero
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.913
Joined: 10-September 11
From: Big Lake, Alaska
Member No.: 13.839



QUOTE (Caelumamittendum @ Jan 21 2019, 10:52 AM) *
I've been searching a bit online, and while some Ibanez do come with D'addario strings, some come with Elixir and some with other brands. That said, I have searched to find a picture of such a label or even a similar text, but I just cannot find it. I'm not saying it isn't true though, just that I'm curious, hence the search.

That said, I was not trolling. I was trying to be constructive - all strings have worked for me with a proper set up. Even putting an 8 string set on my 7 string without the high E has worked after a set up. By all means, while I like D'addarios, I don't think they are the only strings that will work - regardless of the label smile.gif


I doubt you would ever find anything from Ibanez stating that you should only use D'addario strings on an Ibanez with a trem. You might find a recommendation, but I can't recall ever seeing that either and I have owned Ibanez guitars since the early 90's when I bought my first RG. I think most of us know for a fact that just about any brand of strings will work if you know how to set up a floating bridge or have paid someone to set it up for us.
Not sure why whammysam seems upset but I wouldn't lose any sleep over it. Hopefully he will come around and continue to take part in the forums after realizing that no-one was actually trolling him.

This post has been edited by AK Rich: Jan 21 2019, 09:41 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
klasaine
post Jan 21 2019, 10:02 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.339
Joined: 30-December 12
From: Los Angeles, CA
Member No.: 17.304



Through most of the 80s I worked in a music store. I installed strings on probably 500 Ibanez guitars with floating bridges, not to mention Kramers, Jacksons, ESPs, Arias, etc. None of them ever 'specified' a particular brand. Some did say "this guitar is strung with such and such brand of strings". Anytime there was a 'recommendation' it came from the string company. For example, "D'Addario XLs unique tapered ends hold tuning on your floating bridge longer" or some such bullshit. Or, Fender 'bullets' work better for trad Strat trem bridges (also complete BS). All these suggestions were via the string manufacturers and sometimes included in the guitar case candy. Many times it also came with a discount card for buying more of said strings.

In my experience all the name brand electric strings work perfectly well on all type of trem bridges.
Occasionally there will be a bad batch or run of strings. It happens.
If you know how install them correctly, they will work and hold tuning relatively well depending on how aggressively you work the bar and how well your guitar is set up and maintained in general.

This post has been edited by klasaine: Jan 21 2019, 10:04 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 22 2019, 05:41 AM
Post #17


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 17.630
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Todd here wink.gif One thing about new strings and ibby floating trems is that the strings need to be "stretched". For folks new to floating setups this can be a bit of a chore. An easy way to do it is just string up the guitar (the brand of strings honestly does not matter at all. If there is something saying "use dadario" it's pure marketing, there is no technical reason for it. I've used everything from earnie ball to yngwie strings with no problem)
After you string it up, don't engage the lock nuts yet. Proceed to get a decent amount of tension on the strings by tuning it just once. By the time you get to the high E the low E will be out of tune but ignore it. Just start doing big bends on every string. Using the whammy to pull back and forth on the strings. Not to break them, just to stretch them. Keep this up for about 10 minutes. Then, tune it once more and engage the lock nuts.

Proceeed to do a second round of string stretching. Tune again. By then your strings should be stretched and should start staying in tune smile.gif


TROLLING??

P.S. To the guy who felt he had been "trolled" Let me apologize as an instructor here. We do no Troll folks in our forum. It's a matter of policy and we try very hard not to break it. If you felt trolled, be assured it was not intended. This is the most supportive place for musicians that I"ve ever found and I've seen them all. So please don't go in to hiding. Post as often as possible in the forums as it's a great resource and your missing out if you don't post!
Todd
QUOTE (MichaelRdk @ Dec 25 2018, 02:40 PM) *
Hi.
I've recently bought the Ibanez Jem JR, which has a floating bridge, i absolutely love the guitar, but it's my first guitar with this kind of system on, and i'm having some issues regarding tuning.

I do not understand how to tune it, or i thought i did, but it aint working.

So i've put on new strings since the ones it came with broke, i followed a youtube video and changed 1 string at a time to avoid the bridge to "fall down". It all went smooth, and i'm at the tuning part.

I know the strings goes out of tune as they stretch when they are new, i've changed on my stratocaster a trizillion times, but my issue is that whenever i go about tuning the strings, i go string 4-3-5-2-6-1, but whenever i come back to around, it sits flat again, but the bridge raised slightly, so to me it seems that when you tune it up, you just raise the bridge and you just go around in a circle, getting the bridge sitting higher and higher.

Am i doing something wrong ?


Todd here wink.gif One thing about new strings and ibby floating trems is that the strings need to be "stretched". For folks new to floating setups this can be a bit of a chore. An easy way to do it is just string up the guitar (the brand of strings honestly does not matter at all. If there is something saying "use dadario" it's pure marketing, there is no technical reason for it. I've used everything from earnie ball to yngwie strings with no problem)
After you string it up, don't engage the lock nuts yet. Proceed to get a decent amount of tension on the strings by tuning it just once. By the time you get to the high E the low E will be out of tune but ignore it. Just start doing big bends on every string. Using the whammy to pull back and forth on the strings. Not to break them, just to stretch them. Keep this up for about 10 minutes. Then, tune it once more and engage the lock nuts.

Proceeed to do a second round of string stretching. Tune again. By then your strings should be stretched and should start staying in tune smile.gif


TROLLING??

P.S. To the guy who felt he had been "trolled" Let me apologize as an instructor here. We do no Troll folks in our forum. It's a matter of policy and we try very hard not to break it. If you felt trolled, be assured it was not intended. This is the most supportive place for musicians that I"ve ever found and I've seen them all. So please don't go in to hiding. Post as often as possible in the forums as it's a great resource and your missing out if you don't post!
Todd
QUOTE (MichaelRdk @ Dec 25 2018, 02:40 PM) *
Hi.
I've recently bought the Ibanez Jem JR, which has a floating bridge, i absolutely love the guitar, but it's my first guitar with this kind of system on, and i'm having some issues regarding tuning.

I do not understand how to tune it, or i thought i did, but it aint working.

So i've put on new strings since the ones it came with broke, i followed a youtube video and changed 1 string at a time to avoid the bridge to "fall down". It all went smooth, and i'm at the tuning part.

I know the strings goes out of tune as they stretch when they are new, i've changed on my stratocaster a trizillion times, but my issue is that whenever i go about tuning the strings, i go string 4-3-5-2-6-1, but whenever i come back to around, it sits flat again, but the bridge raised slightly, so to me it seems that when you tune it up, you just raise the bridge and you just go around in a circle, getting the bridge sitting higher and higher.

Am i doing something wrong ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd February 2019 - 07:24 AM