2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Pc Interface
Jeff
Oct 20 2007, 01:04 AM
GMC:er
Hey everyone -

I'm thinking about getting an interface to my PC that will allow me to record multiple instruments/mic's all at the same time and have each instrument on it's own track. For example, I have 7 mics on my drums, one mic for lead guitar, one mic for rhythm, one mic and direct line for bass and another for keyboards. So when I record my band and we don't want to lay down one track at a time, I need a way to do that. The biggest problem is that that drums take up a lot of tracks/inputs.

I am able to do that with my Roland VS1880 until I hit the maximum inputs on the mixing board. The problem with that too is that I have no way to hook up the Roland to the PC. There are no digital outs that I can use for this. I think the answer is that I need a digital mixing board and I would like to have one that has USB or Firewire connection so I can use Reaper or Sonar but I haven't shopped around as I'm just beginning to do this. I have a Mackie VLZPro 16 channels, but then again, no digital out. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I should look at?

thanks!

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
Oct 20 2007, 01:22 AM
Moderation Policy Director
You probably want to kick off with a firewire/usb interface - 8 ins/outs are common, and they usually allow you to add additional channels via ADAT light pipe. Focusrite have a nice one called the Saphire Pro

You can feed this from your existing mixer or use it without a mixer. Then to add 2 sets of 8 channels you need something that talks ADAT light pipe language and gives you the additiona; preamps, such as the Behringer ADA8000