Les Paul Vs The Rest, Hard to shred on the LP. . . worth trying other guitars too?
w60i10
Jun 18 2011, 07:18 PM
GMC:er
Hi Guitar Mates,

I've been playing a Gibson LP Standard for 10 years now. I use ernie ball 11-48s and an EMG 81 in the bridge. It's a beautiful guitar and recently had a tune up with a pro-tech I trust. It sounds great and very Zakk Wylde-esque.

My first electric was a nice American Strat about 20 years ago. I thought it sounded way too clean for the "shred" guitar I wanted to emulate (forgive me I was a young teenager). I traded it in for an upper end Ibanez S-Series which I liked much better. Learning Eddie, Hammett, and Satriani riffs was a blast and I fell in love with two hand tapping. It was a Floyd Rose so bends were smooth and the whammy bar was always fun to mess with. Although my style was very sloppy, I loved how fast and smooth everything seemed.

Although the Ibanez was perfect for the heavy stuff (I think Kirk Hammett smashes up the exact model in Cunning Stunts), it really left something to desire for everything else. As I diversified more, I realized I couldn't get a great Eagles type sound and open chords really sounded thin. Although a tech did a thorough tune up, I couldn't get a sound I really loved. I figured it was me and I needed to practice more. I played with a band in High School and as bad as it sounds, I played a Creed song for a school concert. On tape it really doesn't sound great although I know the notes were in tune and I was playing them correctly.

One day I picked up an Epiphone LP at Guitar Center and instantly heard something I hadn't ever from the Ibanez. It was beautiful and balanced and strumming chords sounded incredible. I got the Epiphone and later went on to get a new Gibson LP standard.